Social Sciences - SUMMER RESEARCH INTERNSHIP PROGRAM - Hammond Campus - Library Guides at Purdue University Northwest

Social Sciences Databases

Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)(H.W. Wilson)(XML)
Social Sciences Full Text provides fast access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the U.S. and elsewhere with full text and page images from scores of key publications, plus abstracting and indexing of hundreds of others. An in-demand resource for a wide variety of users from students to social workers, Social Sciences Full Text covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences

Web of Science - ALL This link opens in a new window
Web of Science® (1900-present) - now with books
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.

Navigate with cited reference searching and Author Finder
Create a visual representation of citation relationships with Citation Mapping
Capture citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report
Use the Analyze Tool to identify trends and patterns
Backfiles available to 1900
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a scholarly, full text database designed for academic institutions. The database includes full text for 1800 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study
Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Family & Society Studies Worldwide™ is a core resource providing the most comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. FSSW is an anthology of 4 database files providing access to more than 1.3 million records. Coverage spans from 1970 to the present.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 450 journals.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.