Finding Articles - Computer Graphics Technology 251 - Hammond Campus - Library Guides at Purdue University Northwest

Search Tips

Use terms found in your background reading on the subject
Use the Thesaurus or Subject Terms listings, if available, in the databases you are searching
When you find a record for an item that is useful to you, look at its subject headings or descriptors for more ideas

If you get too many results—

Consider narrowing down the search terms in an Abstract or even in the Title field
Try searching by Subject, rather than by Keyword (or by a combination of Subjects and Keywords or other fields)
Try phrase searching (usually by using " " around the phrase)
Use other limiters, if appropriate, such as a specific type of publication (Peer Reviewed, for example) or a specific time period

If your search does not yield enough results---

Check your search to see if you entered it and spelled it as you intended
Try other search terms and use OR between the terms to find items with any one of the terms
Try using a truncation symbol (often an *) to retrieve results with varying forms of a word (educat*, for example)
Look at the bibliographies of items that are closely related to your topic.
Search in a different database or ask a reference librarian

Find Articles

ACM Digital Library
The ACM Digital Library is the full-text repository of papers from publications that have been published, co-published, or co-marketed by the Association for Computing Machinery.
Springer Link
Providing corporate researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works.
Wiley Online Library

Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 6 million articles from over 1500 journals, over 18,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.
IEEE Xplore
IEEE Xplore is an online delivery system providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
Academic Search Elite

Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, full-text database designed for academic institutions. The database includes full text for 1800 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study.
ScienceDirect - All Subscribed Content

Elsevier ScienceDirect is a leading scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 journals
Engineering Village
Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes citations and abstracts from engineering journals and conference proceedings. You can also search the Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969) and the Inspec Archive (1898-1968).

Off-campus Access

Library electronic journals and databases are accessible from off-campus. When searching for electronic journals and databases from off-campus, a login screen will ask for your username and password. Your username and password is your Career Account username and password (the same credentials you use to log in to campus workstations).

Still Cannot Find the Full-text of an Article?

If you’ve already searched databases, eJournals, and Primo, and still can’t find the full-text of an article, place a request via interlibrary loan service. Requests typically take 7-10 days to be filled. Articles will be sent in pdf format to your ILL account. They will remain in the account for 30 days. It’s your responsibility to retrieve, print or save the article.

For additional resource ideas, stop by the library reference desk or contact a reference librarian via the Contact a Librarian link.