3D Animation for the Raw Beginner Using Maya by Roger King
Call Number: TR897.72.M39 K56 2015
Publication Date: 2014-08-15
Each chapter of 3D Animation for the Raw Beginner Using Maya introduces critical aspects of the 3D animation process and presents clear and concise tutorials that link key concepts to practical Autodesk® Maya® techniques. Providing a principles-based, yet pragmatic, approach to 3D animation, this first-of-its-kind book: Describes the process for creating animated projects in a nonmathematical fashion Explains why--and not just how--to apply Maya techniques in the real world Includes access to a dedicated Web site, http://3dbybuzz.com, featuring useful videos, lessons, and updates 3D Animation for the Raw Beginner Using Maya is an ideal academic textbook as well as a superlative do-it-yourself training manual. When employed as a text, it frees the instructor from the painstaking task of developing step-by-step examples to present Maya's complex interface and basic capabilities. When used for individual study, aspiring animators revel in the book's easy-to-follow, hands-on learning style. Make 3D Animation for the Raw Beginner Using Maya your book of choice for understanding the essential theory and practice of 3D animation.
The Design of Design by Frederick P. Brooks
Call Number: TA174 .B752 2010
Publication Date: 2010-03-22
Making Sense of Design Effective design is at the heart of everything from software development to engineering to architecture. But what do we really know about the design process? What leads to effective, elegant designs? The Design of Design addresses these questions. These new essays by Fred Brooks contain extraordinary insights for designers in every discipline. Brooks pinpoints constants inherent in all design projects and uncovers processes and patterns likely to lead to excellence. Drawing on conversations with dozens of exceptional designers, as well as his own experiences in several design domains, Brooks observes that bold design decisions lead to better outcomes. The author tracks the evolution of the design process, treats collaborative and distributed design, and illuminates what makes a truly great designer. He examines the nuts and bolts of design processes, including budget constraints of many kinds, aesthetics, design empiricism, and tools, and grounds this discussion in his own real-world examples--case studies ranging from home construction to IBM's Operating System/360. Throughout, Brooks reveals keys to success that every designer, design project manager, and design researcher should know.
The Definitive Java Programming Guide Fully updated for Java SE 8, Java: The Complete Reference, Ninth Edition explains how to develop, compile, debug, and run Java programs. Bestselling programming author Herb Schildt covers the entire Javalanguage, including its syntax, keywords, and fundamental programming principles, as well as significant portions of the Java API library. JavaBeans, servlets, applets, and Swing are examined and real-world examples demonstrate Java in action. New Java SE 8 features such as lambda expressions, the stream library, and the default interface method are discussed in detail. This Oracle Press resource also offers a solid introduction to JavaFX. Coverage includes: Data types, variables, arrays, and operators Control statements Classes, objects, and methods Method overloading and overriding Inheritance Interfaces and packages Exception handling Multithreaded programming Enumerations, autoboxing, and annotations The I/O classes Generics Lambda expressions String handling The Collections Framework Networking Event handling AWT and Swing The Concurrent API The Stream API Regular expressions JavaFX JavaBeans Applets and servlets Much, much more
Blender for Visual Effects by Samuel Vila
Call Number: TR897.72.B55 V53 2015
Publication Date: 2015-05-26
Bringing concrete examples from industry to light, this book explains how to use Blender to create visual effects for video/film production. It supplies readers with a practical way to learn how to use Blender's tools across a wide range of scenarios in video/film production, including setting up cameras on a stage, lighting, and other production processes. Maintaining a focus on composition, the book not only explains how to use the most common tools, such as tracking, rendering, and compositing, but also explains how to deal with software limitations and sort out problems. Since the best way to learn something is with a practical example, this book follows one of the author's own projects, starting with how to prepare the elements that will be needed later on. The example illustrates how to use Blender tools and features for scene tracking, setup, rendering, masking, and other post-production functions--from start to finish in a professional workflow. The book examines all the compositing nodes that can be used in Blender. It details time-saving tips, features such as the motion tracker, and rendering techniques so readers will have enough information to accomplish the most common tasks encountered in the creation of a professional visual effects composition. By following the example project presented in the book, you will gain the practical understanding required to use Blender's tools in the most common scenarios in video/film production. You will also gain industry insights into the limitations of the software and how to sort out the problematic scenarios that may come up through the various stages of your project.
Designing Web and Mobile Graphics by Christopher Schmitt
Call Number: T385 .S28574 2013
Publication Date: 2012-12-21
Graphics are key to the user experience of online content, especially now that users are accessing that content on a multitude of devices: smartphones, tablets, laptops, and desktops. This book provides foundational methodology for optimal use of graphics that begins with HTML and CSS, and delves into the worlds of typography, color, transparency, accessibility, imagery, and layout for optimal delivery on all the different devices people use today. It serves beginners and intermediate web builders alike with a complete foundation needed to create successful illustrative and navigational imagery for web and mobile. Coverage includes: lessons on typography, icons, color, and images the latest information on HTML5, CSS3, and other modern technologies in-depth exploration of image formats: GIF, PNG, JPEG, and SVG ways to employ adaptive strategies for responsive web design
Featured New Books
Digital Representation of the Real World by Marcus A. Magnor (Editor); Christian Theobalt (Editor); Olga Sorkine-Hornung (Editor); Oliver Grau (Editor)
Call Number: TR897.7 .D54 2015
Publication Date: 2015-05-07
Create Genuine Visual Realism in Computer Graphics Digital Representations of the Real World: How to Capture, Model, and Render Visual Realityexplains how to portray visual worlds with a high degree of realism using the latest video acquisition technology, computer graphics methods, and computer vision algorithms. It explores the integration of new capture modalities, reconstruction approaches, and visual perception into the computer graphics pipeline. Understand the Entire Pipeline from Acquisition, Reconstruction, and Modeling to Realistic Rendering and Applications The book covers sensors for capturing 3D scenes, including regular cameras, wide-angle omnidirectional cameras, active range scanners, and plenoptic (multi-viewpoint) cameras, as well as fundamental algorithms for processing the imagery, such as stereo correspondence and 3D structure and motion recovery. It describes 3D modeling techniques, from generic object models (such as 3D meshes) to more domain-specific models (such as human shape and motion models). The book also discusses how techniques, including image- and video-based rendering, meet speed and realism requirements. Overcome Challenges in Your Own Research Experiments This book is both an accessible introduction to the emerging research of real-world visual computing and a practical guide that shows you how to start implementing frequently encountered methods.
Interactive Data Visualization by Matthew O. Ward; Georges G. Grinstein; Daniel Keim
Publication Date: 2010-06-14
Visualization is the process of representing data, information, and knowledge in a visual form to support the tasks of exploration, confirmation, presentation, and understanding. This book is designed as a textbook for students, researchers, analysts, professionals, and designers of visualization techniques, tools, and systems. It covers the full spectrum of the field, including mathematical and analytical aspects, ranging from its foundations to human visual perception; from coded algorithms for different types of data, information and tasks to the design and evaluation of new visualization techniques. Sample programs are provided as starting points for building one's own visualization tools. Numerous data sets have been made available that highlight different application areas and allow readers to evaluate the strengths and weaknesses of different visualization methods. Exercises, programming projects, and related readings are given for each chapter. The book concludes with an examination of several existing visualization systems and projections on the future of the field.
OpenGL Superbible by Graham Sellers; Richard S. Wright; Nicholas Haemel
Call Number: T385 .W728 2016
Publication Date: 2015-07-21
OpenGL#65533; SuperBible, Seventh Edition, is the definitive programmer's guide, tutorial, and reference for OpenGL 4.5, the world's leading 3D API for real-time computer graphics. The best introduction for any developer, it clearly explains OpenGL's newest APIs; key extensions; shaders; and essential, related concepts. You'll find up-to-date, hands-on guidance for all facets of modern OpenGL development--both desktop and mobile. The authors explain what OpenGL does, how it connects to the graphics pipeline, and how it manages huge datasets to deliver compelling experiences. Step by step, they present increasingly sophisticated techniques, illuminating key concepts with worked examples. They introduce OpenGL on several popular platforms, and offer up-to-date best practices and performance advice. This revised and updated edition introduces many new OpenGL 4.5 features, including important ARB and KHR extensions that are now part of the standard. It thoroughly covers the latest Approaching Zero Driver Overhead (AZDO) performance features, and demonstrates key enhancements with new example applications. Coverage includes A practical introduction to real-time 3D graphics, including foundational math Core techniques for rendering, transformations, and texturing Shaders and the OpenGL Shading Language (GLSL) in depth Vertex processing, drawing commands, primitives, fragments, and framebuffers Compute shaders: harnessing graphics cards for more than graphics Pipeline monitoring and control Managing, loading, and arbitrating access to data Building larger applications and deploying them across platforms Advanced rendering: light simulation, artistic and non-photorealistic effects, and more Reducing CPU overhead and analyzing GPU behavior Supercharging performance with persistent maps, bindless textures, and fine-grained synchronization Preventing and debugging errors New applications: texture compression, text drawing, font rendering with distance fields, high-quality texture filtering, and OpenMP Bonus material and sample code are available at openglsuperbible.com.