Subject Guide
Welcome
This guide is designed to provide you with quick and easy access to library resources for your assignments and research projects on mass media and communication. Click on the tabs at the top of the guide to access the background information, books, articles, and useful links.
If you get stuck, stop by the reference desk, call me, e-mail me, or IM a librarian. We’re here to help you find any materials that you need to succeed with your papers and projects.
Select a Research Topic
- Choose a topic that interests you
- Read through background information
- Write out your topic as a statement and select the main concepts
- Start making a list of words to describe your topic
Having trouble deciding what to write about? Try looking at the links below to get some ideas:
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCMMC incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth in the communication and mass media fields.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is a scholarly, full-text database designed for academic institutions. The database includes full text for 1800 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study.
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowThis collection contains over 1,100 journal titles published by Sage in the fields of Biomedical Sciences, Engineering, Physical Sciences, Social Sciences, and Humanities.
Find Background Information
Looking for an overview of important events, a historical perspective, bibliographic references and definitions of terms or concepts? Many useful reference works are now available online.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOnline reference library provides advanced searching and full-text of hundreds of dictionaries and encyclopedias in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Cross-reference links and interactive concept maps provide answers and enable further exploration of topics. Images include 17,000 works of art from the Bridgeman Art Library Archive.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowTraces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.