Open Access

The Folger Shakespeare Library

The collection's two great strengths are materials related to the early modern age in the West, from about 1450 to the mid-1700s, and materials related to William Shakespeare and the theater, up to the present day. The Folger's collection of Shakespeare materials, much of it originally acquired by Henry and Emily Folger, is the largest and finest in the world.

The Horace Howard Furness Shakespeare Library

A selection of primary and secondary sources, including both texts and images, that illuminate the theater, literature, and history of Shakespeare, Shakespearean texts, theatrical production, and criticism have been made available for class and research use and to draw attention to the richer resources available in the Library as a whole.

The Shakespeare Quartos Archive

The Shakespeare Quartos Archive is a digital collection of pre-1642 editions of William Shakespeare's plays. A cross-Atlantic collaboration has also produced an interactive interface for the detailed study of these geographically distant quartos, with full functionality for all thirty-two quarto copies of Hamlet held by participating institutions.

Victorian Illustrated Shakespeare Archive

Find Victorian-era illustrations of Shakepearean plays and characters.

Open Source Shakespeare

Open Source Shakespeare attempts to be the best free Web site containing Shakespeare's complete works. It is intended for scholars, thespians, and Shakespeare lovers of every kind. OSS includes the 1864 Globe Edition of the complete works.

Internet Shakespeare Editions

Includes multiple editions of the plays and poems, as well as critical articles and a theater section with information about performances.

Shakespeare in Quarto

This website from the British Library includes background information, an extensive history of performance, and 107 quartos, with the option to view two at the same time, side by side.

Bartleby.com

Provides free online access to books, articles, and criticism on Shakespeare.

BBC - 60 Second Shakespeare
Watch/listen to 60 Second Shakespeare films and audios

Global Shakespeares

The Global Shakespeares Video & Performance Archive is a collaborative project providing online access to performances of Shakespeare from many parts of the world as well as essays and metadata provided by scholars and educators in the field.

Shakespeare · An International Database of Shakespeare on Film, Television and Radio · British Universities Film & Video Council

This authoritative online database of Shakespeare-related content in film, television, radio and video recordings is international in scope and holds over 6,500 records dating from the 1890s to the present day.

Shakespeare Performance in Asia

Videos of Shakespeare performances in Asia, including interactive maps, timelines, interviews, biographies of actors and directors.