Books
The Global Art Compass by
In the past, writers and critics such as Goethe, Ruskin, and Clement Greenberg perpetuated particular ideas about art and even dictated these ideas to the artists themselves. Today, artists no longer have to follow one prevailing theory and the art world is less centralized in particular cities: New York, London, Paris, Berlin, and Beijing all offer rich environments to artists but none are designated as the exclusive center of the art world. In Global Art Compass, Alistair Hicks demonstrates his belief that no single curator, critic, or dealer should monopolize our view of what is happening in the art world today, but that by listening to the artists themselves, we can gradually make out an ever-evolving web of patterns, relationships, and themes. Organized by continent and including extracts from interviews with artists from around the world, the book offers a fresh view of the contemporary art world through artists from France, Albania, Slovakia, Russia, Mexico, Brazil, The United States, China, India, and beyond. The range of artists whose work is explored includes Laure Prouvost, Anri Sala, Roman Ond#65533;k , Gabriel Orozco, Sandra Gamarra , Cai Guo-Qiang, and Nandan Ghiya, among many others. The results of Hicks’s approach clearly show that the preoccupations of artists in the 21st century are largely universal: that ever-faster communications are balanced by a resistance to globalization; that an awareness of the unprecedented complexity of our world is equaled by a rising skepticism of the systems that impose order on our lives; and that while art is seen by many as a commodity, it also has the power to be a regenerative tool.
Call Number: Stacks: N6497 .H53 2014Publication Date: 2014
A History of Pictures by Call Number: ND50 .H628 2016ISBN: 1419722751Publication Date: 2016-10-18A picture, says David Hockney, is the only way that we can communicate what we see. Here, in a collaboration with art critic Martin Gayford, he explores the many ways that artists have pictured the world, sharing sparkling insights and ideas that will delight every art lover and art maker. Readers who thrilled to Hockney's Secret Knowledge know that he has an uncanny ability to get into the minds of artists. In A History of Pictures he covers far more ground, getting at the roots of visual expression and technique through hundreds of images--from cave paintings to frames from movies--that are reproduced. It's a joyful celebration of one of humanity's oldest impulses.
The Museum of Lost Art by Call Number: N9100 .C48 2018ISBN: 0714875848Publication Date: 2018-05-04True tales of lost art, built around case studies of famous works, their creators, and stories of disappearance and recovery From the bestselling author of The Art of Forgerycomes this dynamic narrative that tells the fascinating stories of artworks stolen, looted, or destroyed in war, accidentally demolished or discarded, lost at sea or in natural disasters, or attacked by iconoclasts or vandals; works that were intentionally temporal, knowingly destroyed by the artists themselves or their patrons, covered over with paint or plaster, or recycled for their materials. An exciting read that spans the centuries and the continents.
Street Art World by Call Number: NA9052 .Y68 2016ISBN: 1780236700Publication Date: 2016-11-15Street art and graffiti are a familiar sight in all our cities. Giant murals commemorate historical events or proclaim the culture of a neighborhood, while tagged walls can function simultaneously as a claim to territory and a backdrop for an urban fashion shoot. Street Art World examines these divergent forms and functions of street art. This strikingly illustrated book explores every aspect of street art, from those who spray it into being to those who revel in it on Instagram, from its place under highway overpasses to one on the austere walls of high art museums. What exactly is street art? Is it the same as graffiti, or do they have different histories, meanings, and practitioners? Who makes it? Who buys it? Can it be exhibited at all, or does it always have to appear unsanctioned? Talking with artists, collectors, sellers, and buyers, author Alison Young reveals an energetic world of self-made artists who are simultaneously passionate about an authentic form of expression and ambivalent about the prospects of selling it to make a living--even a fabulously good one. Drawing on over twenty years of research, she juxtaposes the rise and fall of art markets against the vibrancy of the street and urban life, providing a rich history and new ways of contextualizing the words and images--some breathtakingly beautiful--that seem to appear overnight in cities around the world.
eBook Collections
There may be browser compatibility issues with some databases. Sometimes you will see an error message or not be able to access database. One possible solution for this would be to switch browsers or possibility update your browser. There have been issues with ASTM International Digital Library and Knovel databases
- eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowFormerly NetLibrary, now administered by EBSCO. A collection of 59,000+ full-text electronic books on a wide variety of subjects. The collection may be searched by title, author, subject, keyword, or full-text.
- Knovel This link opens in a new windowEngineering information and data analytics.
Knovel provides numerical and tabular data from leading engineering and science resources, including handbooks and encyclopedias. Some tables are interactively searchable.
- Knovel Search GuideA group of video guides for searching Knovel
- Springer Link This link opens in a new windowSpringer e-book collections offer access to many computer science, engineering, and sciences publications.
- Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new windowTaylor & Francis eBooks is the new single destination platform containing over 90,000 authoritative eBooks. This platform offers a single point of discovery for our Taylor & Franics and CRCnetBase eBooks, improved search and discovery of content at the book and chapter level, a dashboard with data visualization of usage, denials, and most popular books, and much more. You can find eBooks mostly related to engineering, technology, computer sciences, and mathematics. After starting your search check the box next to "Show content I have access to" to see full-text.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOnline reference books like dictionaries and encyclopedias that cover the sciences. Also you can access a mind map tool for locating keywords.
- IET Digital Library Ebooks This link opens in a new windowThe IET Digital Library is a global repository of science, engineering and technology focused content produced by the world’s leading international scientific organisation and thought leader – the IET. Online access to the IET Digital Library unlocks an unsurpassed body of work of more than 174,000 technical papers and around 8,676 eBook chapters from 1994 onwards for all IET journals, magazines, conference publications and seminar digests. Approximately 450 new documents are added to the IET Digital Library each month and this number will increase as we introduce ‘article by article’ publishing, ensuring that articles are available to subscribers at the earliest opportunity, without having to wait for the fully published journal issue to be made available online.
Need Books Not Owned By The PNW Library?
If you need a book that the Library does not own, the Library will borrow it from another library for you via Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Services. Before requesting an Interlibrary Loan, you need to establish your ILL account. Click Interlibrary Loan link and follow the instructions for first-time users to register.
Once you have done this, you need only to log into your account to place and monitor your ILL transactions. ILL requests may take 7-10 days to fill. An email notification will be sent to you when the book arrives.