Library Guides: MET 16100: Intro to Engineering Technology: Technology Databases

Select a Research Topic

Choose a topic that interests you
Read through background information
Write out your topic as a statement and select the main concepts
Start making a list of words to describe your topic (try to come up with 3 or 4)
Come up with synonyms for the list of words that describe your topic

Having trouble deciding what to write about? Try looking at the links below to get some ideas:

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore is an online delivery system providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
ASTM International Digital Library This link opens in a new window
ASTM Digital Library provides access to full text journals, special technical publications, manuals, data series, and terminology that covers a broad range of engineering disciplines.
ScienceDirect - All Subscribed Content This link opens in a new window
Elsevier ScienceDirect is a leading scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 journals and almost 30,000 books.

Other eReferences

Looking for an overview of standards, definitions of terms or concepts, important events, and bibliographic references? Many useful reference works are now available online.

Knovel This link opens in a new window
Engineering information and data analytics.
Knovel provides numerical and tabular data from leading engineering and science resources, including handbooks and encyclopedias. Some tables are interactively searchable.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online reference library provides advanced searching and full-text of hundreds of dictionaries and encyclopedias in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Cross-reference links and interactive concept maps provide answers and enable further exploration of topics. Images include 17,000 works of art from the Bridgeman Art Library Archive.

Class Exercises

Keyword Development Exercise
An exercise for you to practice developing keywords
Choosing Keywords Example
Some suggestions on how to get started with selecting keywords from a main topic.
Lifelong Learning Prompt
MET 161 Library Activity

Career Information

Occupational Outlook Handbook includes information about the nature of work, working conditions, training and education, earnings, and job outlook for hundreds of different types of jobs and occupations.

MET 16100: Intro to Engineering Technology

Welcome

Subject Guide

Select a Research Topic

Other eReferences

Class Exercises

Career Information