Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online/Distance Learning Library Orientation: Nursing Databases

This guide is intended for students enrolled in an online nursing program at PNW.

Accessing Nursing Databases

These steps will allow you to view a list of useful databases in nursing research. Use your PNW Career Account sign-in when prompted. 

1.  Access nursing research databases by going to the library's homepage here.

 
2.  Click on either link to access databases.
 
Find Databases

 

3.  On the list of A-Z databases screen, use the All Subjects drop-down box to select Nursing 


Database List

 You will be taken to a list of useful databases for nursing research compiled by the nursing librarian.

Important! - Workplace Access

Many hospitals and other workplaces implement internet security settings that block access to databases hosted on PNW servers.  If you encounter an issue accessing library databases at work, check with your employer's IT department about whether they can unblock access. You can also try another network or log-on from home.

Exercise

Go to the library's homepage here and follow the steps stated above to view the list of Nursing databases.  What are some Nursing databases from the list?

Library Liaison for Nursing Students & Faculty

Profile Photo
Marcia Keith
Contact:
Student Union & Library Building: Rm 203-B
219-989-2523
Subjects: Health, Nursing

About the Library

The library offers a wide range of online resources, including databases with various journals from which to choose articles and research studies.

To access your Library resources, please visit the homepage

Please consult your Library Liaison directly for research assistance.

If your Librarian is unavailable, please contact the Library's Reference desk at (219) 989-2676 or click on the CHAT WITH A LIBRARIAN link below to submit a question or see answers to frequently asked questions.

Library Hours

Library staff members are available to assist you during library hours