Databases for Articles - COM 103: Freshman Seminar In Communication - Hammond Campus - Library Guides at Purdue University Northwest

Select a Research Topic

Choose a topic that interests you
Read through background information
Write out your topic as a statement and select the main concepts
Start making a list of words to describe your topic (try to come up with 3 or 4)
Come up with synonyms for the list of words that describe your topic

Having trouble deciding what to write about? Try using the links below for ideas:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, full-text database designed for academic institutions. The database includes full text for 1800 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study.
ProQuest All Subscribed Content This link opens in a new window
Search all of the ProQuest Databases that Purdue Northwest has access to from this link.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online reference library provides advanced searching and full-text of hundreds of dictionaries and encyclopedias in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Cross-reference links and interactive concept maps provide answers and enable further exploration of topics. Images include 17,000 works of art from the Bridgeman Art Library Archive.
Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Online biographical reference database in the fields of literature, science, business, entertainment, politics, sports, history, current events and the arts.Biographical information on over one million people throughout history, around the world.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text digital archive of over 700 scholarly journals, especially strong in Social Sciences, Humanities, Economics, and Mathematics.

Useful Databases

OmniFile Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
OmniFile Full Text Mega is ideally suited to libraries that need to provide a wide range of research resources. It includes a wealth of essential material for learning, detailed research, or casual reading in a single, easily searched database, and makes the most of your existing periodical holdings.
ProQuest All Subscribed Content This link opens in a new window
Search all of the ProQuest Databases that Purdue Northwest has access to from this link.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index® This link opens in a new window
Arts & Humanities Citation Index®, accessed via Web of Science™ Core Collection, provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the bibliographic and citation information for journal articles in the arts & humanities that they need to find research data, analyze trends, journals, and researchers, and share their findings.

Overcome information overload and focus on essential data from over 1,700 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals.
Black Drama This link opens in a new window
Black Drama contains approximately 1200 plays by 201 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. Some 440 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
MUSE began in 1993 as a pioneering joint project of the Johns Hopkins University Press and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at JHU. Grants from the Mellon Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities allowed MUSE to go live with JHU Press journals in 1995. Journals from other publishers were first incorporated in 2000, with additional university press and scholarly society publishers joining in each subsequent year.

African American Music Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text reference articles, biographies, images, sheet music, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies that chronicle the African American experience through music. Covers blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, and other forms.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music This link opens in a new window
Covers music of all the world's peoples. Each volume contains an overview of a region's musical traditions and themes, descriptions of musical genres and practices.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Humanities Full Text provides full text of the most important scholarly sources in the humanities. The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text digital archive of over 700 scholarly journals, especially strong in Social Sciences, Humanities, Economics, and Mathematics.

African American Poetry This link opens in a new window
A database of modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring thousands of poems by some of the most important African American poets of the last century, including Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Humanities Full Text provides full text of the most important scholarly sources in the humanities. The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more.
Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape This link opens in a new window
Through the manuscript collection of the Wordsworth Trust, comprising the primary works, notebooks, correspondence, diaries, and travel journals of the major romantic writers, and images of 2,500 fine art works, Romanticism offers an insight into the working methods of William Wordsworth and the wider social, political and natural environment that shaped much of his work and that of his contemporaries.
Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape presents the manuscript collections of the Wordsworth Trust, offering students and researchers of the Romantic period unique access to the working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers. We have also included over 2,500 fine art pieces from the Wordsworth Trust’s fine art collection that serve to contextualize the work of the poets and writers represented in this resource. All documents have been digitised in full colour.

The resource is designed for both teaching and study, from undergraduate to research students and beyond.

Authors and artists represented in this resource include:

- William Wordsworth
- Dorothy Worsdworth
- Samuel Taylor Coleridge
- Thomas De Quincey
- Robert Southey
- Matthew Arnold
- Charles Lamb
- Benjamin Robert Haydon
- J.M.W. Turner
- John Constable
- John Ruskin
- Thomas Gainsborough

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Search a complete database comprising full-text business periodicals and news sources from ABI/INFORM Global, Dateline, and Trade & Industry
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, full-text database designed for academic institutions. The database includes full text for 1800 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's most compelling social issues. It is multidisciplinary and supports science, social science, and education courses.