Databases - Primary Research Articles and Text/Opinion Sources
These subscription databases are sources for primary studies and text and opinion articles.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowCINAHL® Complete is the world's most comprehensive nursing and allied health research database, providing full text for nearly 1,400 journals. CINAHL® Complete also provides indexing for more than 5,400 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 4.1 million records dating back to 1937.
- MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThe Medline database from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) contains more than 12 million bibliographic citations from over 4,600 international biomedical journals. The scope of Medline is more broadly medical than CINAHL, which is focused on nursing issues.
- MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowThe MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
- Journals@Ovid Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis resource contains citations and full text articles from approximately 400 specialty journals, including titles such as Bone & Joint, Advances in Neonatal Care, Critical Care Quarterly, Journal of Addictions Nursing, and Ultrasound Quarterly.
- ScienceDirect - All Subscribed Content This link opens in a new windowElsevier ScienceDirect is a leading scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 journals and almost 30,000 books.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThe largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, APA PsycArticles® contains citations and abstracts for scholarly journal articles and book chapters.
Databases - Systematic Reviews
These subscription databases are sources for locating systematic reviews and other evidence based materials.
- JBI This link opens in a new windowThis specialty database from the Joanna Briggs Institute spans a range of medical, nursing, and healthcare specialties and includes evidence summaries, systematic reviews, best practice guidelines, and more. JBI does not draw their contents from published journals like many of our database resources; they publish their own research. It is a vastly smaller database than CINAHL or Medline, but a great source of high-quality systematic reviews.
The database offered by the Joanna Briggs Institute offers various evidence-based practice resources. The database includes:
Best Practice Information Sheet (BPIS) are short summaries based on the results and recommendations of systematic reviews. BPIS are easily disseminated and provide busy health professionals access to key issues and recommendations that have been collected from a large volume of material.
Consumer Information Sheets (CIS) are standardized summaries on a wide range of health care interventions and activities targeted at consumers of health care i.e. patients/residents/clients, relatives and carers. Each Consumer Information Sheet is based on the best available international evidence and each year, every existing entry is updated and new entries are added in response to requests from members/subscribers.
Evidence-Based Recommended Practice (EBRP) are interventions or procedures that describe and/or recommended certain practices on selected clinical topics. Recommended Practices are based on the best available evidence and each practice consists of an equipment list, a recommended practice, occupational health and safety provisions, and an adjoining evidence summary where evidence is available.
Evidence Summaries (ES) are short abstracts that summarise existing international evidence on common health care interventions and activities. Evidence summaries are based on structured searches of the literature and selected evidence-based health care databases.
Systematic Reviews (SR) are an analysis of all of the available literature (that is, evidence) and involves developing a question; establishing inclusion criteria; developing a strategy to comprehensively search for the evidence; appraising the quality of each paper; excluding papers of poor quality; extracting the findings of included papers; and synthesising the findings of included papers.
- Cochrane Library - Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new windowCochrane is a specialty database that publishes systematic reviews, attempting to identify, appraise, and synthesize all the empirical evidence that meets pre-specified eligibility criteria to answer a specific research question. Far smaller in size than CINAHL or Medline, the Cochrane Library is an excellent resource for finding systematic reviews.
Library Liaison for Nursing Students & Faculty
Evidence Based Nursing Resources
- Indiana Center for Evidence-Based Nursing PracticeOnline source for evidence-based nursing news, links, and resources.