Library Guides: HONR 111: Find Articles

Databases

Academic Search Elite

Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, full-text database designed for academic institutions. The database includes full text for 1800 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study.
MasterFILE Elite

Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 2,000 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1922. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for more than 1,000 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags.
OmniFile Full Text Mega
OmniFile Full Text Mega is ideally suited to libraries that need to provide a wide range of research resources. It includes a wealth of essential material for learning, detailed research, or casual reading in a single, easily searched database, and makes the most of your existing periodical holdings.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's most compelling social issues. It is multidisciplinary and supports science, social science, and education courses.

Purdue Library Catalog
Type Vault Career Guide in the search box to find paper and online books about various careers.

Vault provides in-depth intelligence on what it’s really like to work within an industry, company, or profession—and how to position yourself to launch and build the career you want.

Vault is best known for its influential rankings, ratings, and reviews on thousands of top employers and hundreds of internship programs. The data used to compile these rankings and reviews are collected and verified through directed surveys of active employees and enrolled students. Vault also welcomes employees and students unable to participate in directed surveys to submit online reviews on their experiences, salaries, interviews, and more.
But Vault is more than rankings and reviews. On Vault.com, recent graduates entering the workforce and professionals considering a job or career change can research background information about companies, schools, internships, and industries. They can search for current job openings, and they can find essential advice on resumes, interviews, networking, and more to help them launch or build their careers.

Vault provides detailed information on nearly 5,000 companies in more than 120 industries. Vault also provides extensive information on more than 840 professions. This includes education requirements, skill requirements, salaries, advancement prospects, and more.

In addition, Vault publishes numerous employer, career, and interviewing guidebooks in industries such as law, consulting, investment banking, accounting, investment management, private equity, hedge funds, Internet and social media, IT and engineering, energy, health care, advertising, and more.

ScienceDirect - All Subscribed Content

Elsevier ScienceDirect is a leading scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 journals

Business Source Elite

Business Source Complete is a full text business database, covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business.

Access to Business Source Complete is provided via INSPIRE - a service of the Indiana State Library.
Business Abstracts with Full Text
Offering a multitude of business magazines and scholarly journals, this comprehensive database is an ideal resource for those looking to conduct research or find information in any area of business. Contains full-text articles from hundreds of key publications, and provides access to product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports from associations, societies, trade shows, conferences and more.

Education Full Text
This full-text source of education scholarship provides coverage for a wide range of topics, including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, secondary education, teaching methods and much more.
ERIC
Gain immediate access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index with ERIC.

IEEE Xplore
IEEE Xplore is an online delivery system providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.

MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature.

The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers. It is compiled by the staff of the MLA Department of Bibliographic Information Services with the cooperation of more than 100 contributing bibliographers in the United States and abroad. Such international coverage is represented by literature from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America, and while the majority of records are from English-language publications, at least sixty other languages are represented including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish.
Oxford English Dictionary
Traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.

CINAHL Complete

CINAHL® Complete is the world's most comprehensive nursing and allied health research database, providing full text for nearly 1,400 journals. CINAHL® Complete also provides indexing for more than 5,400 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 4.1 million records dating back to 1937.
JBI

This specialty database from the Joanna Briggs Institute spans a range of medical, nursing, and healthcare specialties and includes evidence summaries, systematic reviews, best practice guidelines, and more. JBI does not draw their contents from published journals like many of our database resources; they publish their own research. It is a vastly smaller database than CINAHL or Medline, but a great source of high-quality systematic reviews.

Family & Society Studies Worldwide
Anthology of four database files, providing access to more than 1.3 million records spanning from 1970 to the present. This resource indexes publications from a wide range of social science disciplines, including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history and social work.
PsycArticles

This database is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly articles in psychology published by the American Psychological Association (APA), including articles, book reviews, and letters to the editor from each journal, spanning back to 1894.
PsycINFO

The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, APA PsycArticles® contains citations and abstracts for scholarly journal articles and book chapters.

It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35 languages.

Evaluating Information: fact Vs. opinion

NY Times: Skills Practice | Distinguishing Between Fact and Opinion