Library Guides: ENGL 231: Introduction to Literature: Finding Books

How to find a book

eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
EBSCO’s extensive collection of eBook titles on EBSCOhost allows for a comprehensive and powerful search experience—with every search, relevant eBook titles will appear directly alongside your other EBSCO databases, exposing users to the full depth of your library’s offerings and increasing usage and visibility of your library’s entire collection.
Before downloading an eBook users will need to set up a personal folder. To set up a personal folder you will want to click “Sign In” which is located in the top right corner of the database. After setting that up you should have no problem downloading eBooks. Also another thing to note is that you will need Adobe Digital Editions software on your PC to view the eBook.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online reference library provides advanced searching and full-text of hundreds of dictionaries and encyclopedias in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Cross-reference links and interactive concept maps provide answers and enable further exploration of topics. Images include 17,000 works of art from the Bridgeman Art Library Archive.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
service of OAPEN Foundation based at the National Library in The Hague. Database contains more than 5,000 academic, peer-reviewed books from 163 publishers.
Great Books Online
Internet publisher of literature, reference and verse providing students, researchers and the intellectually curious with unlimited access to books and information on the web, free of charge
Internet Archive
Offers over 12,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts. There is also a collection of 550,000 modern eBooks that may be borrowed by anyone with a free archive.org account.
National Academies Press Free eBooks
Created by the National Academy of Sciences to publish the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine with more than 8,500 titles in PDF format.
NCBI Bookshelf
Provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.
OAPEN Library
Open Access Publishing in European Networks (OAPEN) Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences.
Open Book Publishers
Founded in 2008 by a small group of academics at the University of Cambridge, Open Book Publishers publishes monographs and textbooks in the Humanities and Social Sciences. All books are available to read for free online.
Project Gutenberg
Offers over 53,000 free ebooks, most of which are primary source texts: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.