"This Norton Critical Edition is based on the 1902 English first book publication. The text comes paired with eplanatory footnotes, illustrations and photographs, and an introduction by the editor. "Backgrounds and Contexts" explores the wide range of historical attitudes that influenced the text, including essays on imperialism and the Congo, Nineteenth-Century Attitudes Toward Race, Conrad in the Congo, and The Author on Art and Literature."
"Philip Roth is unquestionably one of the major literary voices of our time, one who has combined critical acclaim with a wide readership. Since the publication of Bernard F. Rodgers's Twayne study of Roth (1978), Roth's oeuvre has expanded considerably both in bulk and in range, with the publication of such major works as The Ghost Writer, The Counterlife, and Patrimony. Philip Roth Revisited is an entirely new look at this important writer's life and work."
"A towering presence in modern literature, James Joyce continues to exert an enormous influence over the writers who have come after him. Generally accepted as the most experimental and daring writer of the twentieth century, Joyce's innovations in the form and content of the novel have not been superseded. If Ulysses is the most influential novel of the twentieth century, Finnegans Wake continues to be the most challenging work in prose fiction in the English language. In James Joyce Revisited, Richard F. Peterson goes back to the classroom in search of those aspects of Joyce's work that make him most accessible and interesting to students."
"Despite the fact that Bernard Malamud (1914-1986) wrote about selflessness and love as they applied to all human beings, he has long been referred to first and foremost as a Jewish-American writer, a term he disliked. Malamud's most significant works, including The Assistant (1957), The Magic Barrel (1958), The Fixer (1966), and The Tenants (1971) dealt with aspects of Jewish experience in both the Old World and the New. He felt, however, that his characters should be understood not for their Jewishness, but rather as symbolic of the human condition, as sufferers."
EBSCO’s extensive collection of eBook titles on EBSCOhost allows for a comprehensive and powerful search experience—with every search, relevant eBook titles will appear directly alongside your other EBSCO databases, exposing users to the full depth of your library’s offerings and increasing usage and visibility of your library’s entire collection.
Before downloading an eBook users will need to set up a personal folder. To set up a personal folder you will want to click “Sign In” which is located in the top right corner of the database. After setting that up you should have no problem downloading eBooks. Also another thing to note is that you will need Adobe Digital Editions software on your PC to view the eBook.
Online reference library provides advanced searching and full-text of hundreds of dictionaries and encyclopedias in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Cross-reference links and interactive concept maps provide answers and enable further exploration of topics. Images include 17,000 works of art from the Bridgeman Art Library Archive.