Books
The Global Art Compass by
In the past, writers and critics such as Goethe, Ruskin, and Clement Greenberg perpetuated particular ideas about art and even dictated these ideas to the artists themselves. Today, artists no longer have to follow one prevailing theory and the art world is less centralized in particular cities: New York, London, Paris, Berlin, and Beijing all offer rich environments to artists but none are designated as the exclusive center of the art world. In Global Art Compass, Alistair Hicks demonstrates his belief that no single curator, critic, or dealer should monopolize our view of what is happening in the art world today, but that by listening to the artists themselves, we can gradually make out an ever-evolving web of patterns, relationships, and themes. Organized by continent and including extracts from interviews with artists from around the world, the book offers a fresh view of the contemporary art world through artists from France, Albania, Slovakia, Russia, Mexico, Brazil, The United States, China, India, and beyond. The range of artists whose work is explored includes Laure Prouvost, Anri Sala, Roman Ond#65533;k , Gabriel Orozco, Sandra Gamarra , Cai Guo-Qiang, and Nandan Ghiya, among many others. The results of Hicks’s approach clearly show that the preoccupations of artists in the 21st century are largely universal: that ever-faster communications are balanced by a resistance to globalization; that an awareness of the unprecedented complexity of our world is equaled by a rising skepticism of the systems that impose order on our lives; and that while art is seen by many as a commodity, it also has the power to be a regenerative tool.
Call Number: Stacks: N6497 .H53 2014Publication Date: 2014
Mr. P. C: the life and music of Paul Chambers by
During his 13 year career between 1955 and 1968, Paul Chambers was one of the leading double bass players in jazz, performing with a wide variety of artists and a range of the music's sub-genres and recording over 300 albums for labels such as Blue Note, Riverside, Mercury and Columbia Records. Chambers performed alongside some of the greatest names in jazz including Miles Davis, John Coltrane, Cannonball Adderley, Sonny Rollins, Wes Montgomery, Joe Henderson, Bill Evans, Wayne Shorter, Herbie Hancock, Hank Mobley, Lee Morgan, Gil Evans and Freddie Hubbard. Although he recorded half a dozen LPs under his own name, including his own compositions, he is probably best remembered for his contribution to the greatest jazz recording of all time; Miles Davis' Kind Of Blue where his bass notes are legendary. Mr P. C. tells the story of this quiet giant of jazz; his birth in Pittsburgh, youth in Detroit, his early rise to jazz celebrity, his time at the top, his struggle against alcoholism and heroin addiction and the circumstances surrounding his tragic death of tuberculosis, aged 33, in 1969. Using material from other literary sources and interviews with family members, friends and colleagues in the jazz fraternity, this book tells in full for the first time this influential musician's story. The book includes a comprehensive discography detailing all of his recordings both as a sideman and bandleader.
Call Number: Stacks: ML418.C56 P35 2012Publication Date: 2012
Cultural Codes by
No art can survive without an understanding of, and dedication to, the values envisioned by its creators. No culture over time has existed without a belief system to sustain its survival. Black music is no different. In Cultural Codes: Makings of a Black Music Philosophy, William C. Banfield engages the reader in a conversation about the aesthetics and meanings that inform this critical component of our social consciousness.By providing a focused examination of the historical development of Black music artistry, Banfield formulates a useable philosophy tied to how such music is made, shaped, and functions. In so doing, he explores Black music culture from three angles: history, education, and the creative work of the musicians who have moved the art forward. In addition to tracing Black music from its African roots to its various contemporary expressions, including jazz, soul, R&B, funk, and hip hop, Banfield profiles some of the most important musicians over the last century: W.C. Handy, Scott Joplin, Louis Armstrong, Duke Ellington, Count Basie, Mary Lou Williams, John Coltrane, James Brown, Jimi Hendrix, and Stevie Wonder, among others. Cultural Codes provides an educational and philosophical framework for students and scholars interested in the traditions, the development, the innovators, and the relevance of Black music.
Call Number: Stacks: ML3479 .B364 2010Publication Date: 2010
There and Back Again: JRR Tolkien and the origins of the Hobbit by
"Even the smallest person can change the course of the future." The prophetic words of Galadriel, addressed to Frodo as he prepared to travel from Lothlórien to Mordor to destroy the One Ring, are just as pertinent to J. R. R. Tolkien’s own fiction. For decades, hobbits and the other fantastical creatures of Middle-earth have captured the imaginations of a fiercely loyal tribe of readers, all enhanced by the immense success of Peter Jackson’s films: first The Lord of the Rings trilogy, and now his newest movie, The Hobbit. But for all Tolkien’s global fame and the familiarity of modern culture with Gandalf, Bilbo, Frodo, and Sam, the sources of the great mythmaker’s own myth-making have been neglected. Mark Atherton here explores the chief influences on Tolkien’s work: his boyhood in the West Midlands; the landscapes and seascapes which shaped his mythologies; his experiences in World War I; his interest in Scandinavian myth; his friendships, especially with the other Oxford-based Inklings; and the relevance of his themes, especially ecological themes, to the present-day.
Call Number: Stacks: PR6039.O32 Z558 2012Publication Date: 2012
eBook Collections
There may be browser compatibility issues with some databases. Sometimes you will see an error message or not be able to access database. One possible solution for this would be to switch browsers or possibility update your browser. There have been issues with ASTM International Digital Library and Knovel databases
- eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowFormerly NetLibrary, now administered by EBSCO. A collection of 59,000+ full-text electronic books on a wide variety of subjects. The collection may be searched by title, author, subject, keyword, or full-text.
- Knovel This link opens in a new windowEngineering information and data analytics.
Knovel provides numerical and tabular data from leading engineering and science resources, including handbooks and encyclopedias. Some tables are interactively searchable.
- Knovel Search GuideA group of video guides for searching Knovel
- Springer Link This link opens in a new windowSpringer e-book collections offer access to many computer science, engineering, and sciences publications.
- Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new windowTaylor & Francis eBooks is the new single destination platform containing over 90,000 authoritative eBooks. This platform offers a single point of discovery for our Taylor & Franics and CRCnetBase eBooks, improved search and discovery of content at the book and chapter level, a dashboard with data visualization of usage, denials, and most popular books, and much more. You can find eBooks mostly related to engineering, technology, computer sciences, and mathematics. After starting your search check the box next to "Show content I have access to" to see full-text.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOnline reference books like dictionaries and encyclopedias that cover the sciences. Also you can access a mind map tool for locating keywords.
- IET Digital Library Ebooks This link opens in a new windowThe IET Digital Library is a global repository of science, engineering and technology focused content produced by the world’s leading international scientific organisation and thought leader – the IET. Online access to the IET Digital Library unlocks an unsurpassed body of work of more than 174,000 technical papers and around 8,676 eBook chapters from 1994 onwards for all IET journals, magazines, conference publications and seminar digests. Approximately 450 new documents are added to the IET Digital Library each month and this number will increase as we introduce ‘article by article’ publishing, ensuring that articles are available to subscribers at the earliest opportunity, without having to wait for the fully published journal issue to be made available online.
Need Books Not Owned By The PNW Library?
If you need a book that the Library does not own, the Library will borrow it from another library for you via Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Services. Before requesting an Interlibrary Loan, you need to establish your ILL account. Click Interlibrary Loan link and follow the instructions for first-time users to register.
Once you have done this, you need only to log into your account to place and monitor your ILL transactions. ILL requests may take 7-10 days to fill. An email notification will be sent to you when the book arrives.