Clinical Guidelines Websites
- Guidelines International NetworkThe library contains links to guidelines published or endorsed by GIN member organisations from across the globe. It also contains a registry of planned guidelines and guidelines in development.
- AHRQ, National Guideline ClearinghouseSearch or browse for guidelines by topic or organization.
- National Heart, Lung, & Blood InstituteClinical Practice Guidelines for Asthma, High Blood Cholesterol, High Blood Pressure & Obesity
- National Kidney Disease Education ProgramClinical Practice Guidelines for Cholesterol, Chronic Kidney Disease, Nephropathy Screening, Hypertension, Nutrition
- Registered Nurses' Association of Ontario (RNAO) Nursing Best Practice GuidelinesContains 50 published guidelines as well as a toolkit and educator's resource to support implementation.
Tips for Finding Research Articles
The attached document explains how to locate research articles (of all types) in CINAHL. This database allows you to select "research article" in the advanced search options. For a review on how to distinguish primary and secondary research and locate research articles, you may review the online tutorial in the Nursing Research 39000 course library guide.
Find Systematic Reviews or Primary Research Articles
For your assignment you may need to find a primary research article or systematic review. Below are resources for you to use to locate systematic reviews, including the Joanna Briggs Institute and the Cochrane Library. If you are searching for research articles, you can search in the CINAHL database.
- Cochrane Library - Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain evidence to inform decision-making. Select the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews to exclusively search systematic reviews.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowCINAHL® Complete is the world's most comprehensive nursing and allied health research database, providing full text for nearly 1,400 journals. CINAHL® Complete also provides indexing for more than 5,400 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 4.1 million records dating back to 1937.
- JBI This link opens in a new windowThis specialty database from the Joanna Briggs Institute spans a range of medical, nursing, and healthcare specialties and includes evidence summaries, systematic reviews, best practice guidelines, and more. JBI does not draw their contents from published journals like many of our database resources; they publish their own research. It is a vastly smaller database than CINAHL or Medline, but a great source of high-quality systematic reviews.
