Nursing Databases
The following is a list of key databases in nursing research. Click on the database name to be directed to the database.
Access to all PNW databases is also available through the library's home page.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowCINAHL Complete contains full-text and abstracts for over 3,800 journals from 1981 to the present, specifically targeted to nursing professionals.
- Cochrane Library - Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain evidence, including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowHealth Source Nursing contains full-text access to over 500 nursing publications and abstracts from an additional more than 800 publications
- JBI This link opens in a new windowJoanna Briggs Institute contains the JBI Library of Systematic Reviews, Best Practice Information sheets, Evidence Summaries and Evidence Based Recommended Practices.
- Lexicomp Online This link opens in a new windowProvides full text access to Lexi-Drugs, Pediatric Lexi-Drugs, and Geriatric Lexi-Drugs. Clinical Applications include drug interactions, tablet & capsule identification, medical calculations and patient advisory leaflets.
- MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE is a premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. This link connects to the OVID platform.
- MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new windowMedline was created by the National Library of Medicine, and is a source to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowContains over 150,000 Articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowPsycINFO contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology as well as related disciplines.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowSAGE Journals Online contains nursing journals that are unavailable in other databases. Some accessible titles include: Clinical Nursing Research, Diabetes Educator, Journal of Holistic Nursing.
- ScienceDirect - All Subscribed Content This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect contains full-text from over 20 scholarly nursing journals along with articles and chapters from more than 2,500 journals and almost 20,000 books.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new windowScopus is a comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science database with over 19,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers.
- Web of Science - ALL This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science provides access to integrated, multidisciplinary research. It includes indexes covering 8,700 scholarly and technical journals completely and 13,300 selectively, in more than 230 disciplines.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowFull-text from over 50 scholarly nursing journals.
Clinical Guidelines Websites
- Guidelines International NetworkThe library contains links to guidelines published or endorsed by GIN member organisations from across the globe. It also contains a registry of planned guidelines and guidelines in development.
- AHRQ, National Guideline ClearinghouseSearch or browse for guidelines by topic or organization.
- National Heart, Lung, & Blood InstituteClinical Practice Guidelines for Asthma, High Blood Cholesterol, High Blood Pressure & Obesity
- National Kidney Disease Education ProgramClinical Practice Guidelines for Cholesterol, Chronic Kidney Disease, Nephropathy Screening, Hypertension, Nutrition
- Registered Nurses' Association of Ontario (RNAO) Nursing Best Practice GuidelinesContains 50 published guidelines as well as a toolkit and educator's resource to support implementation.
Grey Literature Sources - Dissertations & Theses
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new windowFull text access to dissertations and theses. As this is a library subscription databases, Career Account login and password information is required for off-campus users.
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and DissertationsAccess more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations.
- National Library of Australia, TroveContains the collection formerly housed in the Australian Digital Thesis Program. In the Advanced Search, limit to thesis in the "format" field.
- British Library EthOs (Electronic Theses Online Service)Searchable theses of participating UK institutions (full-text access only available if thesis is open access).
Grey Literature Sources - Government Research
- National Institutes of Health Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tools (RePort)Reports of NIH research activities.
- Clinical TrialsRegistry and results database of federally and privately funded clinical trials.
- National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care TechnologyReports on current health services research and public health projects.
Grey Literature Sources - Other
- Virginia Henderson International Nursing LibrarySearchable conference, project and study abstracts.
- The New York Academy of MedicineSearchable catalog of the grey literature collection (some items have links to online access).
- OAIsterCatalog of millions of records from open access resources
