It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NUR 18200: Conceptual & Theoretical Thinking in Nursing: EBP Resources
Information about library resources for students enrolled in Nursing 18200
CINAHL® Complete is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. With CINAHL Complete, users get fast and easy full-text access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and more.
The MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
This database contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology.
It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35 languages.
Databases - Systematic Reviews
These subscription databases are sources for locating systematic reviews and other evidence based materials.
The database offered by the Joanna Briggs Institute offers various evidence-based practice resources. The database includes:
Best Practice Information Sheet (BPIS) are short summaries based on the results and recommendations of systematic reviews. BPIS are easily disseminated and provide busy health professionals access to key issues and recommendations that have been collected from a large volume of material.
Consumer Information Sheets (CIS) are standardized summaries on a wide range of health care interventions and activities targeted at consumers of health care i.e. patients/residents/clients, relatives and carers. Each Consumer Information Sheet is based on the best available international evidence and each year, every existing entry is updated and new entries are added in response to requests from members/subscribers.
Evidence-Based Recommended Practice (EBRP) are interventions or procedures that describe and/or recommended certain practices on selected clinical topics. Recommended Practices are based on the best available evidence and each practice consists of an equipment list, a recommended practice, occupational health and safety provisions, and an adjoining evidence summary where evidence is available.
Evidence Summaries (ES) are short abstracts that summarise existing international evidence on common health care interventions and activities. Evidence summaries are based on structured searches of the literature and selected evidence-based health care databases.
Systematic Reviews (SR) are an analysis of all of the available literature (that is, evidence) and involves developing a question; establishing inclusion criteria; developing a strategy to comprehensively search for the evidence; appraising the quality of each paper; excluding papers of poor quality; extracting the findings of included papers; and synthesising the findings of included papers.