SciFinder - Hammond Campus

What sets SciFinder^® apart? CONTENT! Did you know that SciFinder is the only research tool with access to the world’s most reliable and largest collection of substances, reactions and references (from both journals and patents)? A global network of scientists update content daily to ensure you have access to the most timely and accurate information available.

• Get substances –access the world’s most trusted resource for substance information including chemical structures, chemical names, CAS Registry Numbers^®, properties, commercial availability and regulatory information.

• Get reactions – find dependable and current chemical reaction information from our extensive databases including reaction schemes, experimental procedures, conditions, yields, solvents, catalysts as well as commercial availability of substances with direct links to leading producer and supplier sites.

• Get references – get the information you need when you need it with our unrivaled collection of the world’s most up-to-date chemistry and related science information found in journals, patents, dissertations and more. SciFinder is the only source that brings you information from early discovery through clinical trials with the combined coverage of CAplus^SM and MEDLINE^®. And full-text is just a click away*.

SciFinder Web requires a one-time registration (on-campus IP address required) and a username/password creation. You'll need this username/password to log in with this information each time you use SciFinder Web.

1. Go to the SciFinder registration website
2. Review the instructions for creating the username/password: Register with your PNW email address.
3. When you receive your confirmation email (which may go to your spam folder), click the link in the message to complete the registration.
4. Each time you log in, you will get prompted to accept the SciFinder Web License Agreement

To log in after registration go to SciFinder, go to https://scifinder.cas.org/.

SciFinder^® is rapidly becoming a preferred means to access scientific information in industry and universities worldwide. It accesses databases which span the chemical, engineering, life, medical, and physical sciences, including five Chemical Abstract Service databases and the National Library of Medicine bibliographic database Medline^®. No other single information access tool has such breadth of coverage for scientific journal and patent documents.

Information Retrieval: SciFinder^®, 2^nd Edition is an essential guide explaining how to get the best out of SciFinder. It discusses the 50+ options in SciFinder^® including topic, bibliographic, and chemical substance explore options, and post-processing options Analyze, Refine, and Categorize. The book:

• Summarises the databases and explains how to take advantage of the unique search and analysis options
• Explains selected algorithms behind the operation of SciFinder^® and why it helps to understand them
• Discusses why it is important, and how to apply scientific method to information retrieval
• Describes how to search for chemical structures and chemical reactions

This second edition of Information Retrieval: SciFinder^® has been fully revised and updated to incorporate the latest functionality and content of SciFinder^®. Written by a scientist for scientists, this book will increase your research creativity and productivity and is an essential resource for anyone needing scientific information