Industry Information

Mintel Academic

Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Mintel is the world’s leading market intelligence agency. Mintel covers 38,000 product launches a month. They survey people for opinions on products. Track consumer spending across 34 countries. They provide market analysis, product intelligence, and competitive intelligence reports.

IBISWorld

IBISWorld

The largest provider of industry information in the U.S.

Since 1971 IBISWorld has provided thoroughly researched, accurate and current business information. Today, IBISWorld employs a team of dedicated expert analysts that researches economic, demographic and government data so you don’t have to. We provide your organization with valuable insight into America’s 700+ industries, so you can make better business decisions, faster.

Statista Industry Research

Statista This link opens in a new window
With Statista, you can access the most recent and relevant statistics and studies on a specific topic by simply entering a keyword.
Statista aggregates statistical data on over 600 international industries from more than 18,000 sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases.
Do you need fast results in quantitative research? Statista is the best solution

Industry Information

There several different approaches to searching for industry information. The NAICS code for each industry can be used to search databases as well as the Economic Census. The NAICS number for your industry allows you to zero in on industry specific data.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld is fast becoming a world leading strategic business information provider offering a wealth of powerful and comprehensive information on every industry, top 2000 companies and the business environment.
ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
One of best sources for industry information this database has a lot of industry and market research information.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This is one of the best sources for industry and company profiles. From an investment perspective You can search by both company name and NAICS code. It's best to use truncated 5-digit codes (like 54151* instead of 541512). Select publication type “Industry Profile” Note – not all NAICS or Industries have Industry reports

The Census Business Builder (CBB)
The Census Business Builder (CBB) is a suite of services that provide selected demographic and economic data from the Census Bureau tailored to specific types of users in a simple to access and use format.

eBook With Industry Information

Encyclopedia of American Industries by Scott Heil; Terrance W. Peck
Call Number: eBook Link to full text is below
ISBN: 0787627321
Publication Date: 1997-09-01
A two-volume business reference that provides detailed, comprehensive information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business. Volume 1 covers manufacturing industries; Volume 2 addresses non-manufacturing and service industries. For general and business interest.
Encyclopedia of Small Business by Thomson Gale Staff
Call Number: eBook use link below to acess fulltext
ISBN: 0787691127
Publication Date: 2006-11-17
This convenient and exhaustive reference source is designed to provide entrepreneurs with how-to information that they can apply to their own business. The Encyclopedia contains detailed articles and overviews of all the key information needs of small business users, including financing; financial planning; business plan creation; market analysis; sales strategy; tax planning and more.
2014-2015 ANNUAL STATEMENT STUDIES
Call Number: REF HF5681.B2R565 2014-2015
ISBN: 1570703345
RMA's Annual Statement Studies is the only source of comparative industry data that comes directly from the financial statements of small and medium size business clients of RMA's member institutions. RMA has been the leader in providing the industry with reliable and accurate benchmarking figures including balance sheet and income statement line items, and 18 classical industry average ratios such as the current ratio, quick ratio, and turnover ratios.

ABI / Inform Industry Information

The Browse link at the top of the ABI / Inform Complete database will allow you to browse for reports by industry.

After you click on Browse in ABI/Inform Complete you will see the industry reports listed at the top of the next web page.

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Search a complete database comprising full-text business periodicals and news sources from ABI/INFORM Global, Dateline, and Trade & Industry

Startup Tools

Starup Tools from Steve Blank
FROM STEVE'S WEBSITE
"In 2012 the Harvard Business Review listed me as one of the “Masters of Innovation” and I was the keynote at the National Governors Conference. My talk was on C-Span here, slides are here. I write weekly for the Wall Street Journal Accelerators blog and occasionally for Forbes, the Huffington Post and in Japan for NikkeiBP. In 2013 Forbes listed me as one of the 30 most influential people in Tech. The May 2013 Harvard Business Review cover story was my article, “Why the Lean Startup Changes Everything” and in June I won the 2013 Silicon Valley Visionary Forum award"