Library Guides: Women's History Month: Databases

Databases

Everyday Life & Women in America c.1800-1920

Everyday Life & Women in America c.1800-1920 showcases unique primary source material for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history in the 19th and early 20th centuries.

Everyday Life & Women in America is a resource for the study of American social, cultural and popular history, providing access to rare primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women’s History, Duke University and The New York Public Library.

Everyday Life & Women in America comprises thousands of fully searchable images of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. The collection is especially rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature, offering vivid insights into the daily lives of women and men, as well as emphasizing contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.

Unique primary sources cover the following themes:

Political and Social issues
Race
Religion
Family
Popular Fiction & Sensational Literature
Children's Prescriptive Literature
Periodicals
Women
Fashion & Beauty
Cookery
Medicine
Education
Work
Farming
Women's Studies Archive
Much of history is one-sided, focusing mainly on the male perspective and leaving women's voices unheard. Bringing women’s stories to light, the Women’s Studies Archive connects archival collections concerning women’s history from across the globe and from a wide range of sources. Focusing on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the archive provides materials on women’s political activism, such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and on women’s voices, from female-authored literature to women’s periodicals. By providing the opportunity to witness female perspectives, Gale’s Women’s Studies Archive is an essential source for researchers working in Women’s History, Gender Studies and Social History.
Women and Social Movements in the United States,1600-2000
Women and Social Movements currently includes 78 document projects with more than 2,300 documents, 31,000 pages of additional full-text documents, and 1,678 primary authors. It includes as well book, film and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
Women in The National Archives
This collection consists of two distinct elements:

A finding aid to women's studies resources in The National Archives
Original documents on the suffrage question in Britain, the Empire and colonial territories
The finding aid is the result of a five-year project by staff at The National Archives in the mid-1990s and enables researchers to quickly locate details of documents at TNA relating to women. This finding aid is far more detailed and extensive than anything available elsewhere online and has the benefit of ranging across all of the document classes TNA hold.

The original documents cover the campaign for women's suffrage in Britain, 1903-1928 and the granting of women's suffrage in colonial territories, 1930-1962.

Sources from The National Archives, UK.