Library Guides: Latin American History : Databases

Databases

American Indian Histories and Cultures This link opens in a new window
Presents unique materials from the Edward E. Ayer Collection archival collections on American Indian history and culture at The Newberry Library, Chicago. Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
From early contacts between European settlers and American Indians and the subsequent political, social and cultural effects of those encounters on American Indian life, these materials tell both the historical and the personal stories of the colonization of the Americas. Continuing through to the modern era, and told against the backdrop of the 19th century expansion into the ‘Western Frontier’ right through to the civil rights movement of the mid-twentieth century, American Indian Histories and Cultures highlights both the myths and realities of the ‘Wild West’ and American Indian cultural identity.
Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture This link opens in a new window
Manoel de Oliveira Lima was a Brazilian diplomat, journalist, historian, and book collector whose career spanned Brazil's transition from empire to republic. Born in 1867 in Recife, Pernambuco, and educated from the age of six in Portugal, he dedicated himself to the study of Brazilian and Portuguese culture. Brazilian history and literature was the central focus of his writing and collecting. Oliveira Lima's twenty-three-year diplomatic career included postings in five European capitals—Lisbon, Berlin, London, Brussels, and Stockholm—as well as in Washington, Tokyo, and Caracas. His travels in Europe and the Americas afforded him privileged access to dealers in books, manuscripts, works of art, and other materials for the study of Brazil, Portugal, and the Ibero-Americ
Fuente Académica Premier This link opens in a new window
Covering many academic disciplines, Fuente Académica Premier provides Spanish- and Portuguese-language journals. It includes quality titles from Latin America, Portugal and Spain.
Hathi Trust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Welcome to HathiTrust!
Founded in 2008, HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection. HathiTrust members steward the collection — the largest set of digitized books managed by academic and research libraries — under the aims of scholarly, not corporate, interests.
You may need to use your Purdue login the first time you access Hathi Trust Digital Library.
Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window
Indigenous peoples and their history have interested Natives and non-Natives alike—from the seventeenth through the twenty-first century. Judging by the outpouring of public and private support for the Smithsonian's National Museum of the American Indian, which opened in 2004 across the lawn from the Capitol, the interest in Indigenous Peoples continues to flourish.

Indigenous Peoples of North America provides users with a robust, diverse, informative source that will enhance research and increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada. Researchers will explore the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge through the use of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more. These are the primary sources that take students beyond the facts and figures of history and into a deeper understanding of Indigenous Peoples.
Patrologia Latina Database This link opens in a new window
The Patrologia Latina Database contains 221 volumes and represents a complete electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina (1844-1855 and 1862-1865).
Patrologia Latina Database This link opens in a new window
The Patrologia Latina Database contains 221 volumes and represents a complete electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina (1844-1855 and 1862-1865).
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean This link opens in a new window
World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean serves the needs of students and researchers by bringing together in a single place a rich collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video; and more.