Library Guides: Social Work 464: Databases

Databases

PolicyMap
PolicyMap is an online (no software installation needed) US national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with varied applications for college students and faculty. It is used in undergraduate and graduate curriculums and research related to social sciences, urban studies and planning, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration, public health, social work, political science, education, business, economics, statistics, and geography, among others. Users can leverage thousands of US data indicators in PolicyMap to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level, as well as create custom regions, for their research and studies. PolicyMap data can be presented as maps, tables, charts and pre-built reports that can be incorporated into papers, presentations, blogs and websites.

Family & Society Studies Worldwide
Anthology of four database files, providing access to more than 1.3 million records spanning from 1970 to the present. This resource indexes publications from a wide range of social science disciplines, including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history and social work.
Credo Reference

Online reference library provides advanced searching and full-text of hundreds of dictionaries and encyclopedias in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Cross-reference links and interactive concept maps provide answers and enable further exploration of topics. Images include 17,000 works of art from the Bridgeman Art Library Archive.

PsycArticles

This database is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly articles in psychology published by the American Psychological Association (APA), including articles, book reviews, and letters to the editor from each journal, spanning back to 1894.
PsycINFO

The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, APA PsycArticles® contains citations and abstracts for scholarly journal articles and book chapters.

It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35 languages.

MEDLINE (Ovid)

The MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
PubMed

PubMed is compiled by the National Library of Medicine and comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Some citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. For finding full text scholarly articles, the MEDLINE database is a more effective tool.

Education Full Text
This full-text source of education scholarship provides coverage for a wide range of topics, including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, secondary education, teaching methods and much more.
ERIC
Gain immediate access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index with ERIC.

Academic Search Elite

Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, full-text database designed for academic institutions. The database includes full text for 1800 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study.
Academic Video Premium

Academic Video Online comprises the full content of dozens of video collections and bonus discipline clusters and grows by 7,000 titles each year.
PLEASE NOTE: BEST VIEWED USING INTERNET EXPLORER OR CHROME BROWSER. Not all videos work using Mozilla/Firefox.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and pre-print archives.
MasterFILE Elite

Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 2,000 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1922. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for more than 1,000 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags.
Project Muse
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.

MUSE began in 1993 as a pioneering joint project of the Johns Hopkins University Press and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at JHU. Grants from the Mellon Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities allowed MUSE to go live with JHU Press journals in 1995. Journals from other publishers were first incorporated in 2000, with additional university press and scholarly society publishers joining in each subsequent year.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.

Instruction session handouts

thesaurus.com