Library Guides: Film Resources: Other Film Resources

Primary Source

Media Digital History Library (Lantern)
Reviews in publications from 1850-1996. Lantern is the search platform for the collections of the Media History Digital Library, an open access initiative. The Media History Digital Library (MHDL) digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access.
Media Digital History Library - Book Collection
A free online resource, featuring books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.
Library of Congress Archives
Gateway to primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States, organized into thematic collections. Including: public domain image resources, audio, video, and archived Web content.
Motion Picture Periodicals, Books, and Pamphlets: Margaret Herrick Library
The digital collection of Periodicals, Books, and Pamphlets contains complete issues of various publications from the library’s collections. The library’s published holdings include industry trade publications, fan magazines, technical and scholarly books and journals, and studio house organs and myriad other rare publications.
Box Office Mojo
Box Office Mojo tracks online box office revenue and offers its published data.
Online Silent Film Periodicals (Bioscope)
List of international silent film periodicals that are available online via different European projects.

Movie Review Query Engine
Search engine that brings together complete reviews of popular films in theatres, DVD and online, from newspapers, journals and internet sources. Access by title, director, or actor.
Media Digital History Library (Lantern)
Reviews in publications from 1850-1996. Lantern is the search platform for the collections of the Media History Digital Library, an open access initiative. The Media History Digital Library (MHDL) digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access.