Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sociology

Data and Statistics

  • International Monetary Fund (IMF) eLibrary Data "Contains approximately 32,000 time series (monthly, quarterly, and annually) covering more than 200 countries and areas. IFS is a standard source of statistics on international and domestic finance, and reports, for most countries of the world." International Financial Statistics (IFS)
  • Polling the Nations "A compilation of questions and responses from more than 14,000 national, state, local and special surveys in the U.S. and more than 80 other countries."
  • POPLINE (POPulation information onLINE) "The POPLINE database on reproductive health provides more than 360,000 citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues."
  • Population Reference Bureau "Informs people around the world about population, health, and the environment, and empowers them to use that information to advance the well-being of current and future generations. Data is focused around four "core themes": Reproductive Health and Fertility; Children and Families; Population and the Environment; and Population Futures—Aging, Inequality and Poverty, Migration and Urbanization, and Gender."
  • United Nations Statistics - Health "The United Nations Statistics Division collects, compiles and disseminates official national statistics on births, deaths and life expectancy through the Demographic Yearbook data collection system."
  • US Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) The United States' primary source for criminal justice statistics. BJS mission: To collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded.
  • World Bank Data (World Development Indicators) "The World Bank Group provides free online access to its comprehensive set of data on living standards around the globe--some 2,000 indicators, including hundreds that go back 50 years."
  • World Development Indicators "The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional, and global estimates."
  • World Factbook (CIA) "Contains overviews of each country in the world, including brief data on geography, people, government, economy, membership in international organizations, communications, and defense forces. Maps and flags may be viewed in various formats."