Finding Articles - Computer Information Technology and Graphics - Hammond Campus - Library Guides at Purdue University Northwest

Find Articles

Useful journals for Computer Information Technology/ Computer Graphics

ScienceDirect - All Subscribed Content This link opens in a new window
- contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- provides access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. The PNW Library subscription provides full text access to IEEE Xplore's All-Society Periodicals Package (ASPP) which includes the IEEE core collection of engineering, electronics, and computer science periodicals.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- large multi-disciplinary academic databases providing access to magazines and peer-reviewed journal articles. PDF backfiles are available for some journal titles.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- provides the full-text for ACM conference proceedings, ACM journals, magazines, and newsletters.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
- is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines
Springer Link This link opens in a new window
- provides corporate researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- is a leading international resource for quality content promoting discovery across the spectrum of scientific, technical, medical and professional endeavors.

Off-campus Access

Library electronic journals and databases are accessible from off-campus. When searching for electronic journals and databases from off-campus, a login screen will ask for your username and password. Your username and password is your Career Account username and password (the same credentials you use to log in to campus workstations).

Still Cannot Find the Full-text of an Article?

If you’ve already searched databases, eJournals, and Primo, and still can’t find the full-text of an article, place a request via interlibrary loan service. Requests typically take 7-10 days to be filled. Articles will be sent in pdf format to your ILL account. They will remain in the account for 30 days. It’s your responsibility to retrieve, print or save the article.

For additional resource ideas, stop by the library reference desk or contact a reference librarian via the Contact a Librarian link.

Search Tips

Use terms found in your background reading on the subject
Use the Thesaurus or Subject Terms listings, if available, in the databases you are searching
When you find a record for an item that is useful to you, look at its subject headings or descriptors for more ideas

If you get too many results—

Consider narrowing down the search terms in an Abstract or even in the Title field
Try searching by Subject, rather than by Keyword (or by a combination of Subjects and Keywords or other fields)
Try phrase searching (usually by using " " around the phrase)
Use other limiters, if appropriate, such as a specific type of publication (Peer Reviewed, for example) or a specific time period

If your search does not yield enough results---

Check your search to see if you entered it and spelled it as you intended
Try other search terms and use OR between the terms to find items with any one of the terms
Try using a truncation symbol (often an *) to retrieve results with varying forms of a word (educat*, for example)
Look at the bibliographies of items that are closely related to your topic.
Search in a different database or ask a reference librarian