Getting Started - Computer Information Technology and Graphics - Hammond Campus - Library Guides at Purdue University Northwest

Welcome

This guide should serve as a starting point for the research you do for your Engineering and Technology classes. Use the tabs at the top of the guide to get started on finding background information, books, and articles.

Career Information

Occupational Outlook Handbook includes information about the nature of work, working conditions, training and education, earnings, and job outlook for hundreds of different types of jobs and occupations.

Select a Research Topic

Choose a topic that interests you
Read through background information
Write out your topic as a statement and select the main concepts
Start making a list of words to describe your topic

Having trouble deciding what to write about? Try looking at the links below to get some ideas:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, full-text database designed for academic institutions. The database includes full text for 1800 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ACM Digital Library is the full-text repository of papers from publications that have been published, co-published, or co-marketed by the Association for Computing Machinery.
Springer Link This link opens in a new window
Providing corporate researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore is an online delivery system providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 6 million articles from over 1500 journals, over 18,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.
ScienceDirect - All Subscribed Content This link opens in a new window
Elsevier ScienceDirect is a leading scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 journals and almost 30,000 books.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes citations and abstracts from engineering journals and conference proceedings. You can also search the Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969) and the Inspec Archive (1898-1968).

Other eReferences

Looking for an overview of standards, definitions of terms or concepts, important events, and bibliographic references? Many useful reference works are now available online.

Knovel This link opens in a new window
Knovel is a searchable collection of handbooks, datasets and reference sources in science, technology and engineering through a single interface.
ASTM International Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Provides online version of the technical standards from ASTM International. These are included in the larger IHS Engineering Resource Center - Specs & Standards database. Select "IHS Standards Expert" link on the website.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online reference library provides advanced searching and full-text of hundreds of dictionaries and encyclopedias in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Cross-reference links and interactive concept maps provide answers and enable further exploration of topics. Images include 17,000 works of art from the Bridgeman Art Library Archive.