Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Data Sources-Business And Finance
Alacra: PERIODIC TABLE of Business Research Databases
Alacra put together the Periodic Table of Business Research Databases to help you understand the myriad selection of databases available to you as you build a business case. A critical problem of information research, especially business research, is knowing which data is trustworthy enough for making your business case.
Big Charts From Market Watch: Major Market Indexes
This page offers a list of stocks and their current status on a graph.
BRASS (Business Reference and Services Section) Business Guide - International Business
BRASS is a station for all aspects of business reference. This page contains open sources for international business statistics.
BUSLIB-L is an unmoderated discussion list for anyone interested in business librarianship and information services. Participants may exchange information, ask questions, and post employment opportunities and other announcements.
Centre for Longitudinal Study Information and User Support is an ESRC-funded support team for UK academic, statutory and voluntary sector users of the Office for National Statistics (ONS) Longitudinal Study (LS).
CFTC:(Commodity Futures Trading Commision): Market Data & Analysis
The mission of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission is to promote the integrity, resilience, and vibrancy of the U.S. derivatives markets through sound regulation.
Charity Navigator: Your Guide to Intelligent Giving
This is a guide that offers ratings, financial-details, and other information on charities the average citizen may question.
Databases, Tables & Calculators by Subject
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics collects, analyzes, and publishes reliable information on many aspects of America's economy and society. They measure employment, compensation, worker safety, productivity, and price movements.
The Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Economic Census Tables
This page offers a list of tables containing various statistics across the U.S., offered by the country's Census.
Economic Research: Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Download, graph, and track 788,000 US and international time series from 103 sources.
FINRA: Market Data
This comprehensive tool is designed to assist investors with market and investment research, both through the market data information provided as well as through the FINRA Investor Education material and tools.
FORTUNE Global 500
FORTUNE is a global media organization dedicated to helping its readers, viewers, and attendees succeed big in business through unrivaled access and best-in-class storytelling. The Fortune Global 500 is their annual ranking of the largest 500 corporations worldwide as measured by total revenue.
Give.org: BBB Wise Giving Alliance
BBB Wise Giving Alliance produces evaluative reports on charities based on 20 BBB Standards for Charity Accountability that address four charity areas: governance, results reporting, finances, and truthful and transparent communications.
globalEDGE Business Beat
globalEDGE Business Beat is a source for global business knowledge on the airways. It provides statistical data to compare between states and countries across the globe.
This page features basic, though current stock market statistics and financial news.
International Trade Administration: Trade Statistics
ITA publishes a variety of statistics, use the links below to navigate directly to data relating to a specific topic.
Internet Archive: Columbia Historical Corporate Reports
A selection of corporate reports from the Columbia Business Library's extensive collection of historical corporate annual reports.The selection targeted corporations that operated in and around New York City. Approximately 36 companies are represented with a total of approximately 770 individual reports (ca. 17,300 pages) ranging from the 1850s through the early 1960s.
Nation Master: Countries Compared
This page records the difference between national government revenues and expenditures, expressed as a percent of GDP.
There are many great sources of data on the population and how it is changing — this is called Demographics Data. This page is a collection of some of the best sources for demographics data. Most of these links are to public data sources that are free.
SEC (Rank and Filed): Tickers
The SEC identifies companies with a Central Index Key (CIK). The tickers matched here are pulled from ownership reports and XBRL filings.
Teaching Commons: Business
The Teaching Commons showcases high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities and makes them available to educators and students around the world. It includes open-access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, lectures, k-12 materials, and more.
U.S. Census Bureau
The Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission: Data
The Financial Statement and Notes Data Sets below provide the text and detailed numeric information from all financial statements and their notes. This data is extracted from exhibits to corporate financial reports filed with the Commission using eXtensible Business Reporting Language (XBRL).
U.S. Security and Exchange Commissions: Accessing EDGAR Data
The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission's HTTPS file system allows comprehensive access to the SEC's EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system) filings by corporations, funds, and individuals.
UCLA: Anderson School of Management (Government Information)
U.S. and California government information resources, categorized by type of business information need.
World Bank Open Data
The World Bank Group is a unique global partnership: five institutions working for sustainable solutions that reduce poverty and build shared prosperity in developing countries. This page offers Free and open access to global development data.
This page offers current Stock Market statistics and other business news.