Library Guides: ENGL 288: Theory and Investigation: Finding Books & E-books

Book Reviews

If you're looking for reviews of a specific book, the best way to find them is to search these databases for the book title and/or author, and look for a way to limit your results to Book Reviews.

OmniFile Full Text Mega
OmniFile Full Text Mega is ideally suited to libraries that need to provide a wide range of research resources. It includes a wealth of essential material for learning, detailed research, or casual reading in a single, easily searched database, and makes the most of your existing periodical holdings.
JSTOR
Full-text digital archive of over 700 scholarly journals, especially strong in Social Sciences, Humanities, Economics, and Mathematics.

New York Times: Sunday Book Review

eBook Collections

You have access to a large number of e-books through Purdue University Northwest. The e-books available in our collection do not require e-book readers and can be viewed on any computer. There are several different ways to locate and access e-books in the Library.

eBook Collection (EBSCO)
EBSCO’s extensive collection of eBook titles on EBSCOhost allows for a comprehensive and powerful search experience—with every search, relevant eBook titles will appear directly alongside your other EBSCO databases, exposing users to the full depth of your library’s offerings and increasing usage and visibility of your library’s entire collection.

Before downloading an eBook users will need to set up a personal folder. To set up a personal folder you will want to click “Sign In” which is located in the top right corner of the database. After setting that up you should have no problem downloading eBooks. Also another thing to note is that you will need Adobe Digital Editions software on your PC to view the eBook.
Credo Reference

Online reference library provides advanced searching and full-text of hundreds of dictionaries and encyclopedias in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Cross-reference links and interactive concept maps provide answers and enable further exploration of topics. Images include 17,000 works of art from the Bridgeman Art Library Archive.
Springer Link
Providing corporate researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works.

Online Reference Resources

Oxford English Dictionary
Traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP)
This is an online encyclopedia combines peer reviewed publication of original papers in philosophy. It is maintained by Stanford University.
Statistical Abstracts of the United States (Series)
This is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations. This is a great source for statistics to support your argument.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
This includes information about the nature of work, working conditions, training and education, earnings, and job outlook for hundreds of different types of jobs and occupations.