Library Guides: Communication 114 Fundamentals of Speech: Databases

Databases

Academic Search Elite

Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, full-text database designed for academic institutions. The database includes full text for 1800 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study.
Academic Video Premium

Academic Video Online comprises the full content of dozens of video collections and bonus discipline clusters and grows by 7,000 titles each year.
PLEASE NOTE: BEST VIEWED USING INTERNET EXPLORER OR CHROME BROWSER. Not all videos work using Mozilla/Firefox.
America: History & Life
America: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
American Indian Histories and Cultures
Presents unique materials from the Edward E. Ayer Collection archival collections on American Indian history and culture at The Newberry Library, Chicago. Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.

From early contacts between European settlers and American Indians and the subsequent political, social and cultural effects of those encounters on American Indian life, these materials tell both the historical and the personal stories of the colonization of the Americas. Continuing through to the modern era, and told against the backdrop of the 19th century expansion into the ‘Western Frontier’ right through to the civil rights movement of the mid-twentieth century, American Indian Histories and Cultures highlights both the myths and realities of the ‘Wild West’ and American Indian cultural identity.
American Periodicals
This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children’s and women’s magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.

Black Thought and Culture
Black Thought and Culture contains 1,303 sources with 1,210 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans.
Brill Online Books and Journals

Founded in 1683, Brill is a publishing house with a rich history and a strong international focus. Brill’s publications focus on the Humanities and Social Sciences, International Law and selected areas in the Sciences. Brill also boasts an extensive catalog of online resources and primary source collections.
British Newspapers 1600-1900 (Gale)
A comprehensive digital historic newspaper archive includes 3 million pages of historic newspapers, newsbooks, & ephemera including national and regional papers from British Isles.

Credo Reference

Online reference library provides advanced searching and full-text of hundreds of dictionaries and encyclopedias in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Cross-reference links and interactive concept maps provide answers and enable further exploration of topics. Images include 17,000 works of art from the Bridgeman Art Library Archive.

Defining Gender, 1450-1910

Provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective. A wide range of original primary sources representing five key topics: Conduct and Politeness, Domesticity & the Family, Consumption & Leisure, Education & Sensibility, and The Body.

Early English Books Online
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Eighteenth Century Journals
Digital reproductions of unique and rare eighteenth century periodicals chosen to convey the eclecticism and evolution of the publishing world between 1712 and 1835. Purdue Subscribes to Eighteenth Century Journals V, offering a complete run of one of the greatest periodicals of the age, The Lady's Magazine (1770 to 1832), as well as other relevant titles from the period.

The Lady’s Magazine – an entertaining and educational journal aimed at “the housewife as well as the peeress” – was the first objective and professional effort to create a magazine acceptable for women. Topics include aspects of the social and domestic sciences, as well as health, education, and the humanities.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century, the world’s largest library of the printed book on microfilm.

Gale Virtual Reference Library - ebook (Gale)
Gale Virtual Reference Library's powerful delivery platform puts your reference content into circulation. Researchers will have the power to Search and share results, Create mark lists, Track research through search history, Share articles using InfoTrac InfoMarks® and more.

Historical Abstracts with FullText
Historical Abstracts™ with Full Text is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
Welcome to HathiTrust!
Founded in 2008, HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection. HathiTrust members steward the collection — the largest set of digitized books managed by academic and research libraries — under the aims of scholarly, not corporate, interests.

You may need to use your Purdue login the first time you access Hathi Trust Digital Library.

JSTOR
Full-text digital archive of over 700 scholarly journals, especially strong in Social Sciences, Humanities, Economics, and Mathematics.

Milestone Documents in American History
Primary source documents have always occupied a central role in the study of history. Most existing reference sources, however, treat these documents as an afterthought. This new series - the focus of a new imprint by the Schlager Group, and available exclusively through Salem Press - fills the gap by offering students and researchers in-depth, analytical essays illuminating famous primary source documents from U.S. and world history.
Military & Government Collection
News about military and government topics. Featuring full-text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and and indexing and abstracts from nearly 400 titles.
Coverage 1975-present.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online NCCO
Focuses on primary source collections of the nineteenth century, including a variety of material types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more--in one cross-searchable location.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
This database Provides access to approximately 500 U.S. newspapers, published between 1800 and 1900. It includes titles from throughout the United States, many published in what were, at the time, only territories. Newspapers selected on their immediate value to researchers on the press and on the century in general. Papers selected cover a broad spectrum, with a comprehensive geographical and chronological range.

Patrologia Latina Database
The Patrologia Latina Database contains 221 volumes and represents a complete electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina (1844-1855 and 1862-1865).
Project Muse
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.

MUSE began in 1993 as a pioneering joint project of the Johns Hopkins University Press and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at JHU. Grants from the Mellon Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities allowed MUSE to go live with JHU Press journals in 1995. Journals from other publishers were first incorporated in 2000, with additional university press and scholarly society publishers joining in each subsequent year.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
PolicyMap
PolicyMap is an online (no software installation needed) US national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with varied applications for college students and faculty. It is used in undergraduate and graduate curriculums and research related to social sciences, urban studies and planning, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration, public health, social work, political science, education, business, economics, statistics, and geography, among others. Users can leverage thousands of US data indicators in PolicyMap to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level, as well as create custom regions, for their research and studies. PolicyMap data can be presented as maps, tables, charts and pre-built reports that can be incorporated into papers, presentations, blogs and websites.

Sabin Americana (1500-1926)
PLEASE NOTE: If you receive an "application error" when trying to access this resource, please try a different browser. We are working on trying to resolve this issue.

Sabin Americana is an online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s.

The Sabin Americana collection is rich in original accounts of discovery and exploration, pioneering and westward expansion, the U.S. Civil War and other military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition, and religious history. The ongoing collection now includes more than 29,000 full-text works and has an interface and functionality similar to Gale's Eighteenth Century Collections Online.

The Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-1985
The Times Digital Archive provides convenient access to an extraordinary library of back issues of this renowned newspaper online. By taking the microfilm collection of The Times (London) and producing a high-resolution digital format with searchable images, The Times Digital Archive represents unprecedented access to one of the most highly regarded resources for the study of 18th century history and onward.
Thirties in America
The Thirties in America naturally devotes a great deal of its space to Depression-era topics, including New Deal programs, but not at the expense of other important subjects.

In addition to the set's extensive coverage of such Depression-era subjects as the economic downturn, bank failures, Dust Bowl conditions, and unemployment and such transformational New Deal programs and agencies as Social Security, the Securities and Exchange Commission, the Federal Housing Administration, the National Recovery Administration, and the Works Progress Administration, The Thirties in America covers a diverse array of other events and developments that set the 1930's apart from other decades, including the development of sound and color films and a general blossoming of the film industry; the first ominous signs of the coming world war; the ascendancy of radio entertainment; golden eras of Major League Baseball and professional boxing; the birth of Canada's Dionne quintuplets; the rise of gangsters such as Al Capone, John Dillinger, Ma Barker, and Bonnie and Clyde; major breakthroughs in nuclear physics that would eventually make possible atom bombs and nuclear energy; exciting new theories in astronomy about black holes and neutron stars and the discovery of Pluto and the invention of electric typewriters, instant coffee, radar, and the Richter scale for measuring earthquakes.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
This rich, easy-to-navigate database is ideal for students and researchers of English literature and other humanities or social science subjects. Unparalleled opportunities for tracking the literary activity and critical opinion makers of the 20th century are now possible in a powerful digital environment. More than 250,000 reviews, letters, poems and articles in more than 5,000 issues of the TLS are available, and-for the first time-the identities of anonymous contributors are disclosed.

Victorian Popular Culture: Moving Pictures
Provides thorough coverage of Victorian and Edwardian visual entertainments, early optics, magic lantern shows, panoramas, dioramas, early photography, and early motion pictures.

Women and Social Movements in the United States,1600-2000
Women and Social Movements currently includes 78 document projects with more than 2,300 documents, 31,000 pages of additional full-text documents, and 1,678 primary authors. It includes as well book, film and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
Women in The National Archives
This collection consists of two distinct elements:

A finding aid to women's studies resources in The National Archives
Original documents on the suffrage question in Britain, the Empire and colonial territories
The finding aid is the result of a five-year project by staff at The National Archives in the mid-1990s and enables researchers to quickly locate details of documents at TNA relating to women. This finding aid is far more detailed and extensive than anything available elsewhere online and has the benefit of ranging across all of the document classes TNA hold.

The original documents cover the campaign for women's suffrage in Britain, 1903-1928 and the granting of women's suffrage in colonial territories, 1930-1962.

Sources from The National Archives, UK.

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection
The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however, there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.
19th Century British Library Newspapers
The 19th Century British Library Newspapers collection contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales.

Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection.

Newspaper Resources

Amateur Newspapers from the American Antiquarian Society
The amateur newspaper occupies an unusual place in the history of journalism. An amateur journal is a periodical created to afford pleasure to its readers as well as to its editor and its publisher. The rage to publish, rather than profit, is the motive that most often induces people to become amateur journalists; and, throughout the history of the genre, most but not all amateur journalists have been juveniles.
Associated Press Collections Online
Associated Press Collections Online is a publishing program focusing on making the varied treasures of the Associated Press Corporate Archives, AP Images, and AP Archive available to libraries worldwide. Exploring the history and back story of the venerable Associated Press—decades' worth of wire copy, correspondence, memos, internal publications, and more—the Associated Press Collections Online meets the research needs of a variety of disciplines, and offers a cutting-edge platform designed to support that research.

British Newspapers 1600-1900 (Gale)
A comprehensive digital historic newspaper archive includes 3 million pages of historic newspapers, newsbooks, & ephemera including national and regional papers from British Isles.

Daily Mail Historical Archive
Described by the New Yorker as "the newspaper that rules Britain," the Daily Mail has been at the heart of British journalism since 1896, regularly changing the course of government policy and setting the national debate. Its website is among the most visited news sites in the world. The Daily Mail Historical Archive includes more than one hundred years of this major UK national newspaper, viewable in full digital facsimile form, with copious advertisements, news stories, and images that capture twentieth-century culture and society.

Economist Historical Archives
The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2014. Full-colour images, multiple search indexes, and the facility to browse each and every issue - all combine to offer a unique primary source covering the 19th and 20th centuries.

Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2016
The Financial Times began as a City of London news sheet and grew to become one of the best-known and most-respected newspapers in the world. Along the way, the Financial Times—printed on its distinctive salmon-colored paper—has chronicled the critical financial and economic events that shaped the world, from the late nineteenth and entire twentieth centuries to today. This historical archive is a comprehensive, accurate, and unbiased research tool for those studying economic and business history and current affairs of the last 120 years.

Global Newsstream‎ (1980 - current)
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full- text format. It pulls information from other databases including: Canadian Newsstream, Global Breaking Newswires, International Newsstream, and US Newsstream.

This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. All titles are cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform allowing researchers easy access to multiple perspectives, resources, and languages on the topic they are researching.

NewsBank
The electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database. Each paper provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community.

Available on campus only.
Newspaper Source

Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts

This collection includes cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times as well as selected full text from hundreds of regional newspapers. International newspaper coverage includes cover-to-cover full text for The Times (London), The Toronto Star, The Australian, and more. Newswire coverage includes AP Online (Associated Press), Asia Pulse, Canadian Press Wire, World Stream Newswires and more.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
This database Provides access to approximately 500 U.S. newspapers, published between 1800 and 1900. It includes titles from throughout the United States, many published in what were, at the time, only territories. Newspapers selected on their immediate value to researchers on the press and on the century in general. Papers selected cover a broad spectrum, with a comprehensive geographical and chronological range.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851 - 2013)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal‎ (1889 - 1999)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
ProQuest US Newsstream
This database detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue of each newspaper is indexed thoroughly, so researchers have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the papers. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.
Wall Street Journal via ProQuest Newsstand
Search the Wall Street Journal, full-text coverage available from 1984-present.

The Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-1985
The Times Digital Archive provides convenient access to an extraordinary library of back issues of this renowned newspaper online. By taking the microfilm collection of The Times (London) and producing a high-resolution digital format with searchable images, The Times Digital Archive represents unprecedented access to one of the most highly regarded resources for the study of 18th century history and onward.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
This rich, easy-to-navigate database is ideal for students and researchers of English literature and other humanities or social science subjects. Unparalleled opportunities for tracking the literary activity and critical opinion makers of the 20th century are now possible in a powerful digital environment. More than 250,000 reviews, letters, poems and articles in more than 5,000 issues of the TLS are available, and-for the first time-the identities of anonymous contributors are disclosed.

Wall Street Journal via ProQuest Newsstand
Search the Wall Street Journal, full-text coverage available from 1984-present.

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection
The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however, there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.

Communication 114 Fundamentals of Speech

Databases

Newspaper Resources

News Bias