Librarian
Select a Research Topic
- Choose a topic that interests you
- Read through background information
- Write out your topic as a statement and select the main concepts
- Start making a list of words to describe your topic (try to come up with 3 or 4)
- Come up with synonyms for the list of words that describe your topic
Having trouble deciding what to write about? Try using the links below for ideas:
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is a scholarly, full-text database designed for academic institutions. The database includes full text for 1800 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study.
- ProQuest All Subscribed Content This link opens in a new windowSearch all of the ProQuest Databases that Purdue Northwest has access to from this link.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOnline reference library provides advanced searching and full-text of hundreds of dictionaries and encyclopedias in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Cross-reference links and interactive concept maps provide answers and enable further exploration of topics. Images include 17,000 works of art from the Bridgeman Art Library Archive.
- Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new windowOnline biographical reference database in the fields of literature, science, business, entertainment, politics, sports, history, current events and the arts.Biographical information on over one million people throughout history, around the world.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text digital archive of over 700 scholarly journals, especially strong in Social Sciences, Humanities, Economics, and Mathematics.