Skip to main content

NUR 48600: Community Health Nursing: How to Get Help

Information and resources for students enrolled in Nur 48600

Ask a Librarian

Need help?

If you find that you are starting to get frustrated or feel like you are spinning your wheels in trying to complete an assignment - don't wait! Ask for help.

Whether you are an on campus nursing student or a participant in the online RN to BSN program, you can contact Marcia Keith for assistance with your search strategy and using library resources.

Email: mgkeith@pnw.edu
Phone: 219-989-2523

Virtual reference appointments are available. See more information here.

Workplace Access

Many hospitals and other workplaces implement internet security settings that block access to databases hosted on PUC servers.  If you encounter an issue accessing library databases at work, check with your employer's IT department about whether they can unblock access. You can also try another network or log in from home.

Career Account Username and Password

Username and password help

Students in accelerated programs can contact the Accelerated Program Tech Support at (855) 326-1173 (toll free) or e-mail at tlt-ams@purdue.edu for your username and password.

You can reset your password online at https://www.itap.purdue.edu/.

Troubleshooting Database Access Issues

If you encounter issues with accessing the library databases, please consult the tips below.

1.  Are you accessing the databases from the links on the library’s website?  

  • Access the databases through the links on the library’s website or library guides.  From the library’s homepage, select the Databases Alphabetically link under the Find Column, sign in with your Blackboard username and password on the authentication screen, then select the letter that corresponds to the first letter of the name of the database from the A to Z list on your screen.  It is not necessary to login to My PNW to access library databases. 

2.  Are you using your Career Account to log in to the database? 

  • If you are unsure of your username and password, contact Accelerated Program Tech Support at: 1-855-326-1173 (toll free).  You may also contact them at: tlt-ams@purdue.edu
  • To reset your password online, go to:  https://www.itap.purdue.edu/ 

3.  Have you tried accessing the databases with a different browser?

  • Try accessing the databases from a different browser (i.e. Firefox or Safari if originally attempted in Internet Explorer).
  • If you are an accelerated student still encountering difficulties after following the above steps, please do not hesitate to contact the library for assistance at (219) 989-2676, or libref@pnw.edu.  Please supply a detailed description of your problem including database name, browser, and specific error message.

Library Liaison for Nursing Students & Faculty

Marcia Keith's picture
Marcia Keith
Contact:
Student Union & Library Building: Rm 203-B
219-989-2523
Subjects:Health, Nursing

About the Library

The library offers a wide range of online resources, including databases with various journals from which to choose articles and research studies.

To access your Library resources, please visit the homepage

Please consult your Library Liaison directly for research assistance.

If your Librarian is unavailable, please contact the Library's Reference desk at (219) 989-2676 or click on the ASK A LIBRARIAN link below to submit a question or see answers to frequently asked questions.

Library Hours

Library staff members are available to assist you during library hours

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact the library at libref@pnw.edu.