Library Guides: ENGL 231: Introduction to Literature: Finding Articles

EBSCO Basics

Databases for English

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, full-text database designed for academic institutions. The database includes full text for 1800 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study.
African American Poetry This link opens in a new window
A database of modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring thousands of poems by some of the most important African American poets of the last century, including Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove.
American Fiction, 1774-1920 This link opens in a new window
American Fiction, 1774–1920 contains more than 17,800 titles and is comprised of prose fiction written by Americans from the political beginnings of the United States through World War I. It gathers extensive content in one place and allows researchers to explore the development of American literature in a changing culture through novels, short stories, romances, fictitious biographies, travel accounts, and sketches.
Gale Literary Index This link opens in a new window
Gale Literary Index is a master index to the major literature products published by Gale. It combines and cross-references author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for titles of works into one source.
MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
The MLA Directory of Periodicals provides detailed information on over 6,000 journals and book series that cover literature, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, language, linguistics, pedagogy, rhetoric and composition, and the history of printing and publishing. Articles published in works listed in the directory are indexed in the MLA International Bibliography.
The directory is a valuable resource for scholars seeking outlets to publish their work as well as for librarians working to identify periodical publications that best meet their institutions’ needs.
Each journal or series entry provides detailed information, including:

Publication details, such as publisher, sponsoring organization, ISSN, frequency, and year of first publication
Editorial policies, such as scope, including subject terms assigned by the directory editor; peer review; average number of readers per manuscript; publication language or languages; acceptance of book reviews, brief notes, abstracts, and advertising; copyright policy; and charges associated with publication
Contact details for editors, including e-mail addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, and mailing addresses for manuscripts
Submission requirements, including recommended style and format for article submission, article length, and blind-submission requirements
Electronic availability, including URLs for article submission and links to open-access online content where available
Subscription information with full subscription contact information, distributors, subscription rates, and circulation numbers
Useful statistics, such as the average number of manuscripts of various types submitted to a journal each year and the number published, time from submission to decision, and time from decision to publication.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature.
The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers. It is compiled by the staff of the MLA Department of Bibliographic Information Services with the cooperation of more than 100 contributing bibliographers in the United States and abroad. Such international coverage is represented by literature from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America, and while the majority of records are from English-language publications, at least sixty other languages are represented including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish.