Library Guides: PSY 25100: Health Psychology: Databases

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, full-text database designed for academic institutions. The database includes full text for 1800 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study.
Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Online biographical reference database in the fields of literature, science, business, entertainment, politics, sports, history, current events and the arts.Biographical information on over one million people throughout history, around the world.

Access provided by INSPIRE - a service of the Indiana State Library.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online reference library provides advanced searching and full-text of hundreds of dictionaries and encyclopedias in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Cross-reference links and interactive concept maps provide answers and enable further exploration of topics. Images include 17,000 works of art from the Bridgeman Art Library Archive.
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 2,000 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1922. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for more than 1,000 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags.
OmniFile Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
OmniFile Full Text Mega is ideally suited to libraries that need to provide a wide range of research resources. It includes a wealth of essential material for learning, detailed research, or casual reading in a single, easily searched database, and makes the most of your existing periodical holdings.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's most compelling social issues. It is multidisciplinary and supports science, social science, and education courses.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
PolicyMap is an online (no software installation needed) US national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with varied applications for college students and faculty. It is used in undergraduate and graduate curriculums and research related to social sciences, urban studies and planning, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration, public health, social work, political science, education, business, economics, statistics, and geography, among others. Users can leverage thousands of US data indicators in PolicyMap to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level, as well as create custom regions, for their research and studies. PolicyMap data can be presented as maps, tables, charts and pre-built reports that can be incorporated into papers, presentations, blogs and websites.

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 538,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 5,800 records.
ScienceDirect - All Subscribed Content This link opens in a new window
Elsevier ScienceDirect is a leading scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 journals and almost 30,000 books.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is a full text business database, covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business.

Access to Business Source Complete is provided via INSPIRE - a service of the Indiana State Library.
Business Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Offering a multitude of business magazines and scholarly journals, this comprehensive database is an ideal resource for those looking to conduct research or find information in any area of business. Contains full-text articles from hundreds of key publications, and provides access to product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports from associations, societies, trade shows, conferences and more.

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
CMMC incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth in the communication and mass media fields.

Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
This full-text source of education scholarship provides coverage for a wide range of topics, including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, secondary education, teaching methods and much more.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Gain immediate access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index with ERIC.

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore is an online delivery system providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature.
The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers. It is compiled by the staff of the MLA Department of Bibliographic Information Services with the cooperation of more than 100 contributing bibliographers in the United States and abroad. Such international coverage is represented by literature from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America, and while the majority of records are from English-language publications, at least sixty other languages are represented including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
America: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text digital archive of over 700 scholarly journals, especially strong in Social Sciences, Humanities, Economics, and Mathematics.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851 - 2013) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal‎ (1889 - 1999) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL® Complete is the world's most comprehensive nursing and allied health research database, providing full text for nearly 1,400 journals. CINAHL® Complete also provides indexing for more than 5,400 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 4.1 million records dating back to 1937.
JBI This link opens in a new window
This specialty database from the Joanna Briggs Institute spans a range of medical, nursing, and healthcare specialties and includes evidence summaries, systematic reviews, best practice guidelines, and more. JBI does not draw their contents from published journals like many of our database resources; they publish their own research. It is a vastly smaller database than CINAHL or Medline, but a great source of high-quality systematic reviews.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The Medline database from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) contains more than 12 million bibliographic citations from over 4,600 international biomedical journals. The scope of Medline is more broadly medical than CINAHL, which is focused on nursing issues.

Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Anthology of four database files, providing access to more than 1.3 million records spanning from 1970 to the present. This resource indexes publications from a wide range of social science disciplines, including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history and social work.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
This database is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly articles in psychology published by the American Psychological Association (APA), including articles, book reviews, and letters to the editor from each journal, spanning back to 1894.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, APA PsycArticles® contains citations and abstracts for scholarly journal articles and book chapters.
It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35 languages.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Full Text provides fast access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the U.S. and elsewhere with full text and page images from scores of key publications, plus abstracting and indexing of hundreds of others.
An in-demand resource for a wide variety of users from students to social workers, Social Sciences Full Text covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.