Databases - Communication Research - Hammond Campus - Library Guides at Purdue University Northwest

Academic Sesrch Premier

Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database that contains citations to both popular and scholarly articles. It is a good place to start your search for articles. The default is the basic search screen which allows you to do a keyword search. You also have the option of doing an advanced search.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window

JSTOR

JSTOR is an interdisciplinary digital archive of full text core journals in humanities, social sciences and sciences. It allows users to search for key words and terms through decades -even centuries -of scholarly material in nearly 50 disciplines. However, it is an archive so the recent issues of journals are not available.

It is recommended that you start searches using the Advanced Search page, not the Basic Search page. The Advanced Search page enables you to search for articles that include multiple terms, articles in specific journals or disciplines, and an item published within a certain date range.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window

Project Muse

Project MUSE is a full text database of scholarly journals covering the fields of literature and criciticsm, history, the visual and performing arts, political science, gender studies, and many others.

Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
MUSE began in 1993 as a pioneering joint project of the Johns Hopkins University Press and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at JHU. Grants from the Mellon Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities allowed MUSE to go live with JHU Press journals in 1995. Journals from other publishers were first incorporated in 2000, with additional university press and scholarly society publishers joining in each subsequent year.

Communication And Mass Media Complete

Communication & Mass Media Complete offers indexing and abstracts for more than 550 journals and includes full text for over 440 journals in areas related to communication and mass media.

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window

OmniFile Full Text (Wilson)

OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition is a multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text. Full-text articles from five additional periodical databases are also included when available: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.

OmniFile Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window

SAGE Journals Online

SAGE Journals Online is an eJournal database. The Library doesn't subscribe to all the journals covered by it . Search with in SAGE Journals Available to Me to get full-text access to journals subscribed by library.

SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window

Other Databases

ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
This database detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue of each newspaper is indexed thoroughly, so researchers have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the papers. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.
ScienceDirect - All Subscribed Content This link opens in a new window
Elsevier ScienceDirect is a leading scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 journals and almost 30,000 books.
Springer Link This link opens in a new window
Providing corporate researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 6 million articles from over 1500 journals, over 18,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.