Skip to main content

Communication Research - Hammond Campus

A guide for communication research at Purdue University Northwest

Find Articles in Databases

Use these resources as first stops for finding articles:

Still Cannot Find the Full-text of an Article?

If you’ve already searched databases, eJournals, and Primo, and still can’t find the full-text of an article, place a request via interlibrary loan service. Requests typically take 7-10 days to be filled. Articles will be sent in pdf format to your ILL account. They will remain in the account for 30 days.   It’s your responsibility to retrieve, print or save the article.

 

For additional resource ideas, stop by the library reference desk or contact a reference librarian via the contact a librarian link. 

 

 

Off-campus Access

Library electronic journals and databases are accessible from off-campus. When searching for electronic journals and databases from off-campus, a login screen will ask for your username and password.  Your username and password is your NetID/Career Account username and password (the same credentials you use to log in to campus workstations).

 

If you do not know your user name or password, or are receiving a message of an invalid user name and/or password, contact our Customer Service Center at (219) 989-2888, and selection Option 2.  

 

 

Scholarly Journals V. Popular Magazine Articles

How can you tell the difference between these two types of periodical articles? Watch this video.  

Search Tips

  • Use terms found in your background reading on the subject
  • Use the Thesaurus or Subject Terms listings, if available, in the databases you are searching
  • When you find a record for an item that is useful to you, look at its subject headings or descriptors for more ideas
  • Find appropriate Library of Congress Subject Headings if you are searching library catalogs and some databases

If you get too many results— 

  • Consider narrowing down the search terms in an Abstract or even in the Title field
  • Try searching by Subject, rather than by Keyword (or by a combination of Subjects and Keywords or other fields)
  • Try phrase searching (usually by using " " around the phrase)
  • Use other limiters, if appropriate, such as a specific type of publication (Peer Reviewed, for example) or a specific time period

If your search does not yield enough results---

  • Check your search to see if you entered it and spelled it as you intended
  • Try other search terms and use OR between the terms to find items with any one of the terms
  • Try using a truncation symbol (often an *) to retrieve results with varying forms of a word (educat*, for example)
  • Look at the bibliographies of items that are closely related to your topic. 
  • Search in a different database or ask a reference librarian

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact the library at libref@pnw.edu.