The Essential Guide to Doing Your Research Project
by Zina O'Leary
Call Number: Q180.55.M4.O643 2010
Publication Date: 2009-11-25
This highly readable text guides the reader through each stage of their research project, from getting started to writing up, with each chapter clearly explaining a step along the way. Based on the author’s hugely popular The Essential Guide to Doing Research, this new book retains the warmth, wit and grounded nature of the first, while providing tools to help students through the ins and outs of their own projects, and addressing the key questions students need to tackle.
This is an inspiring book full of down-to-earth advice, illuminating figures, and diagrams and engaging real life examples. With this book as your personal mentor, a successfully completed research project is well within reach.
Dr Zina O’Leary is an internationally recognised leader in research methodologies and has a keen interest in the application of research to evidence based decision making in both the private and public sector. She designs and coordinates research units at the University of Sydney (Business School and Graduate School of Government) and the Australia and New Zealand School of Government. Zina also has an extensive history as a consultant and research coordinator for the Centre for Environmental Health Development at the World Health Organisation Collaborating Centre. She is the author of Researching Real World Problems, and The Social Science Jargon Buster.
by John W. Creswell
Call Number: H62.C6963 2009
Publication Date: 2008-07-15
The Third Edition of the bestselling text Research Design by John W. Creswell enables readers to compare three approaches to research—qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods—in a single research methods text. The book presents these three approaches side by side within the context of the process of research from the beginning steps of philosophical assumptions to the writing and presenting of research. Written in a user-friendly manner, Creswell's text does not rely on technical jargon. He cuts to the core of what a reader needs to know to read and design research in part by showcasing ideas in a scaffold approach so that the reader understands ideas from the simple to the complex.
Key updates to the Third Edition
Presents the preliminary steps of using philosophical assumptions in the beginning of the book
Provides an expanded discussion on ethical issues
Emphasizes new Web-based technologies for literature searches
Offers updated information about mixed methods research procedures
Contains a glossary of terms
Highlights “research tips” throughout the chapters incorporating the author’s experiences over the last 35 years
Handbook of Research Design and Social Measurement
by Delbert C. Miller (Editor); Neil J. Salkind (Editor)
Call Number: HA62.M44 2002
Publication Date: 2002-01-16
If a student researcher had only one handbook on their bookshelf, Miller and Salkind’s Handbook would certainly have to be it. With the updated material, the addition of the section on ethical issues (which is so well done that I’m recommending it to the departmental representative to the university IRB), and a new Part 4 on "Qualitative Methods", the new Handbook is an indispensable resource for researchers."
Dan Cover, Department of Sociology, Furman University
The book considered a "necessity" by many social science researchers and their students has been revised and updated while retaining the features that made it so useful. The emphasis in this new edition is on the tools with which graduate students and more advanced researchers need to become familiar as well as be able to use in order to conduct high quality research.
Introduction to Research Methods
by Robert Burns
Call Number: H62.B863 2000
Publication Date: 2000-05-02
A comprehensive introductory research methods guide, this textbook provides students with an understanding of the concepts and techniques of qualitative and quantitative research. It uses simple examples and practice exercises to demystify complex theories and methodologies.
· STQ's - Self Testing Questions (and answers)
· Summaries, suggestions for further reading, examples and case studies for each chapter
· Consideration of the ethics of research
· Comprehensive coverage of quantitative methods, qualitative methods and survey methods
. Hints on how to use of the leading software packages for quantitative and qualitative research, SPSS and NUD·
Emergent Methods in Social Research
by Patricia Leavy (Editor); Sharlene Hesse-Biber (Editor)
Call Number: H61.E437 2006
Publication Date: 2006-02-01
Emergent Methods in Social Research introduces state-of-the-art social research methods that address the growing methods-theory gap within and across the disciplines. In this text, editors Sharlene Nagy Hesse-Biber and Patricia Leavy combine original, in-depth introductions, previously published articles, and original works to provide readers with a comprehensive view of new and cutting-edge research methods and methodologies.
Research Design and Statistical Analysis
by Jerome L. Myers; Arnold D. Well
Call Number: QA279.M933 2003
Publication Date: 2002-11-01
This book emphasizes the statistical concepts and assumptions necessary to describe and make inferences about real data. Throughout the book the authors encourage the reader to plot and examine their data, find confidence intervals, use power analyses to determine sample size, and calculate effect sizes. The goal is to ensure the reader understands the underlying logic and assumptions of the analysis and what it tells them, the limitations of the analysis, and the possible consequences of violating assumptions.
The simpler, less abstract discussion of analysis of variance is presented prior to developing the more general model. A concern for alternatives to standard analyses allows for the integration of non-parametric techniques into relevant design chapters, rather than in a single, isolated chapter. This organization allows for the comparison of the pros and cons of alternative procedures within the research context to which they apply.
Basic concepts, such as sampling distributions, expected mean squares, design efficiency, and statistical models are emphasized throughout. This approach provides a stronger conceptual foundation in order to help the reader generalize the concepts to new situations they will encounter in their research and to better understand the advice of statistical consultants and the content of articles using statistical methodology.
The second edition features a greater emphasis on graphics, confidence intervals, measures of effect size, power analysis, tests of contrasts, elementary probability, correlation, and regression. A Free CD that contains several real and artificial data sets used in the book in SPSS, SYSTAT, and ASCII formats, is included in the back of the book. An Instructor's Solutions Manual, containing the intermediate steps to all of the text exercises, is available free to adopters.
Ethics in Research
by Ian Gregory; Gregory
Call Number: H62.G752 2003
Publication Date: 2003-12-01
This book encourages reflection upon the inescapable ethical dimensions of the conduct of research. Gregory explores how ethical concerns inform not only the conduct of research but how they enter into the very decision to engage in a piece of research, the interpretation of data and what is done with research findings. Issues arising from the reflections of the text will be brought to bear upon the character of the researcher, the place (if any) of codes in practice for researchers and whether if in deference to ethical considerations there are limitations upon what can be countenanced in the name of research
This collection of 14 original articles teaches readers how to conduct qualitative research. Instead of characterizing and justifying certain methods, the contributors show by means of actual research studies what assumptions, procedures, and dilemmas they encountered. Fischer's introduction, which emphasizes the practical nature of qualitative research and the closing chapter, which uses a question-and-answer format to investigate, among other subjects, what is scientific about qualitative research, are complemented by a glossary and other features that increase the book's utility and value.
The increasing cost of research means that scientists are in more urgent need of optimal design theory to increase the efficiency of parameter estimators and the statistical power of their tests.
The objectives of a good design are to provide interpretable and accurate inference at minimal costs. Optimal design theory can help to identify a design with maximum power and maximum information for a statistical model and, at the same time, enable researchers to check on the model assumptions.
•Introduces optimal experimental design in an accessible format.
•Provides guidelines for practitioners to increase the efficiency of their designs, and demonstrates how optimal designs can reduce a study's costs.
•Discusses the merits of optimal designs and compares them with commonly used designs.
•Takes the reader from simple linear regression models to advanced designs for multiple linear regression and nonlinear models in a systematic manner.
•Illustrates design techniques with practical examples from social and biomedical research to enhance the reader's understanding.
Researchers and students studying social, behavioral and biomedical sciences will find this book useful for understanding design issues and in putting optimal design ideas to practice
by Ronald Czaja; Johnny Blair (Editor)
Call Number: HA31.2.C93 2005
Publication Date: 2004-12-09
The Second Edition of Designing Surveys: A Guide to Decisions and Procedures accounts for changes in telephone, Internet, and email surveying and provides a more comprehensive treatment on questionnaire testing. Despite changing technologies, however, the principles of scientific survey design remain unchanged, including the selection of the sample, the writing of questions to solicit an unbiased response, and the ethical treatment of human subjects. This new edition addresses these issues in the context of new and emerging technologies and their relationship to survey design and the social sciences. Designing Surveys provides an accurate account of how modern survey research is actually conducted, but with the needs and goals of a novice researcher in mind.