by Cathy H. C. Hsu; Tom Powers
Call Number: Stacks (TX911.3.M3 H78 2002 )
Publication Date: 2001-06-29
Combining marketing theory with a strong practical emphasis on industry applications, Marketing Hospitality, Third Edition offers superior coverage of marketing as an integral part of operations, especially at the unit level. Beginning with an overview of hospitality marketing, products, and services, it guides readers through the basics of marketing research, segmentation, and targeting, as well as branding, distribution, location, pricing, and communication. A powerful feature of the book is its strong coverage of marketing planning and strategy, including clear step-by-step guidance on developing an effective marketing plan.
Purchasing for Chefs
by John M. Stefanelli; Andrew Hale Feinstein; Andrew H. Feinstein
Call Number: Stacks (TX911.3.P8 F455 2007 )
Publication Date: 2006-04-21
Purchasing For Chefs is unlike any other purchasing book on the market. It presents accurate, focused information that tells busy chefs what to do and how to do it. Unencumbered by theory and speculation, this practical guide can be read quickly and its principles can be implemented the next day. From knowing how much to buy to how to control pilfering - this is the complete resource for dramatically improving purchasing practices at any establishment where the chef is the heart of the house
Behind the Scenes at Special Events
by Lena Malouf
Call Number: Folio (TX911.3.M27 M25 1999 )
Publication Date: 1998-12-14
Lena Malouf, CSEP, is recognized as an international authority in the special events, party, and floral industries. She gives you an arsenal of proven techniques to administer, coordinate, and create a special event that will leave your clients and their guests with a truly memorable experience. Lavishly illustrated, this valuable guide is packed with inspirational and imaginative examples of Malouf's most successful corporate events, theme parties, flower arrangements, table designs, and much more. Packed with checklists, forms, and double-checking methods, this book helps you feel confident that even the tiniest detail will not be missed.
The study of tourism and indeed the tourism industry is changing constantly. Contemporary Tourism: an international approach presents a new and refreshing approach to the study of tourism, considering issues such as the changing world order, destination marketing, tourism ethics and pro-poor tourism. In particular, it highlights the ongoing threats from terrorism and health scares faced by the tourism industry today, and discusses the related security and risk management strategies, illustrating the potential implications for the patterns and flow of tourism in the future
by Greg Richards (Editor)
Call Number: Stacks (G156.5.H47 C855 2007 )
Publication Date: 2006-11-03
For many nations around the world, cultural tourism is not only a major industry but also a support for national identity and a means for preserving heritage. Cultural Tourism: Global and Local Perspectives brings together in one volume interdisciplinary explorations of cultural tourism from leading international authorities in different locations around the world. Experts from the Cultural Tourism Research Group of the Association for Tourism and Leisure Education (ATLAS) discuss major issues that have emerged from the ATLAS research program over the past decade. Students and practitioners can examine important global and local issues such as authenticity, ’placelessness’, the changing relationships between local communities and tourists, the changing meaning of religious heritage, festivals, and special events
The Happy Table of Eugene Walter
by Don Goodman (Editor); Thomas Head (Editor)
Call Number: Stacks (TX715.2.S68 H366 2011)
Publication Date: 2011-10-10
"A southern Renaissance man, Eugene Walter (1921-98) was a pioneering food writer, a champion of southern foodways and culture, and a legendary personality among food lovers. The Happy Table of Eugene Walter, which introduces a new generation of readers to Walter's culinary legacy, is a revelation to anyone interested in today's booming scene in vintage and artisanal drinks--from bourbon and juleps to champagne and punch--and a southern twist on America's culinary heritage. Assembled and edited by Walter's literary executor, Donald Goodman, and food writer Thomas Head, this charming cookbook includes more than 300 recipes featuring the use of spirits in the food and drink of the South, as well as numerous asides, lovely short essays, and countless witticisms that make for great reading as well as good cooking.
On Food and Cooking
by Harold McGee
Call Number: Stacks (TX651 .M27 2004)
Publication Date: 2004-11-16
Harold McGee's On Food and Cooking is a kitchen classic. Hailed by Time magazine as "a minor masterpiece" when it first appeared in 1984, On Food and Cooking is the bible to which food lovers and professional chefs worldwide turn for an understanding of where our foods come from, what exactly they're made of, and how cooking transforms them into something new and delicious.
Now, for its twentieth anniversary, Harold McGee has prepared a new, fully revised and updated edition of On Food and Cooking. He has rewritten the text almost completely, expanded it by two-thirds, and commissioned more than 100 new illustrations. As compulsively readable and engaging as ever, the new On Food and Cooking provides countless eye-opening insights into food, its preparation, and its enjoyment.
On Food and Cooking pioneered the translation of technical food science into cook-friendly kitchen science and helped give birth to the inventive culinary movement known as "molecular gastronomy." Though other books have now been written about kitchen science, On Food and Cooking remains unmatched in the accuracy, clarity, and thoroughness of its explanations, and the intriguing way in which it blends science with the historical evolution of foods and cooking techniques.
Famous Chefs and Fabulous Recipes
by Lisa Abraham; Catherine St. John
Call Number: Stacks (TX365.W47 A27 2012)
Publication Date: 2011-09-15
Publication Date: September 15, 2011
During its operation, the Western Reserve School of Cooking has hosted many of the nation's chefs, including Hugh Carpenter, Shirley Corriher, David Hirsch, and Michael Symon. This volume contains recipes from all of them. But the feast doesn't stop there. Learn how to bake a cake from White House chef Roland Meisner. Knead some dough with master baker Carl Hitz. If you can't wait for dessert, Emily Luchetti, the Executive Pastry Chef for Waterbar and Farallon Restaurants in San Francisco, will help you out. This truly unique volume covers the gamut with exquisite recipes from the schools own chefs to mouth-watering dishes from international chefs who have pass through the school's kitchen.
Tourism Business Frontiers
by Dimitrios Buhalis; Carlos Costa; Francesca Ford (Editor)
Call Number: Stacks (G155.A1 T58954 2006 )
Publication Date: 2005-10-03
As the global tourism industry continues to expand and to become more complex, it is vital that those in the industry are equipped with a thorough knowledge of all topics involved. New Tourism Consumers Products and Industry: Present and Future Issues provides this comprehensive coverage and more. Written by a team of globally renowned thinkers and researchers, it not only provides a brief historical overview of tourism, but delves deeper, to discuss emerging trends, consumer types and looks at the way the industry itself is changing and developing. It provides the manager of tomorrow with the ability to look beyond normal planning horizons and identify potential opportunities from these changes.
Taking Tourism to the Limits
by Chris Ryan (Editor); Michelle Aicken (Editor); Stephen J. Page (Editor)
Call Number: Stacks (G155.A1 T34 2005 )
Publication Date: 2005-12-19
The concept of margins and limits is often referred to within the tourism academic literature and includes subjects as diverse as carrying capacities, peripheral economies, technological advancement, adventure tourism, dark tourism and socially marginalized communities. After identifying a number of ways in which ‘limits’ might be defined Taking Tourism to the Limits explores concepts and challenges facing contemporary tourism in five main sections, namely in tourism planning and management, nature based tourism, dark tourism, adventure and sport tourism and the accommodation industry.
Drawing upon case studies, current research and conceptualizations these different facets of the ‘limits’ are each introduced by the editors with commentaries that seek to identify themes and current practice and thinking in the respective domains. The picture that emerges is of an industry that reinvents itself in response to changing market parameters even while core issues of stakeholder equities and political processes remain problematic.
International in scale, the book links with its companion piece Indigenous Tourism – the commodification and management of culture (also published by Elsevier) as an outcome of the very highly successful conference, Taking Tourism to the Limits hosted by the University of Waikato’ Department of Tourism Management in 2003.